Everybody Dance To The Pumpkin Song

Happy Halloween!

Due to Birthday Party and other socially exhausting things, I don’t have real Halloween plans. I did this on purpose, and may hit a bar or something, but more likely I’ll be in, watching a movie. Since I don’t do the whole horror thing, my Halloween choices tend to range into the silly and campy. So here are the things I’m going to be considering watching tonight.

It’s The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown.

OK, I probably won’t watch this, since I watched it with my mom last night. But it’s always a good pick. It’s so silly and perfect, and pretty brief. Like really brief. At just over 30 mintues, it’s probably the fastest on this list, but it’s still a good one. Charlie Brown and the gang are at their best here, going trick or treating (I got a rock) and Sally’s melt down after realizing she wasted her Halloween waiting for The Great Pumpkin is completely epic.

Double, Double Toil And Trouble

OK, a confession, I haven’t watched the Olsen Twin Halloween Movie since I was little, but I mean, come on, they were so cute at that point. Not quite at the height of their powers, (That came a few years later, when they were tweens/early teens. I think they actually ruled the world then…at least my world.) but still good.

Buffy The Vampire Slayer: “Halloween”

I wasn’t going to leave you high and dry without a Buffy recommendation, and this episode, the one where everyone turns into their Halloween costumes is absolutely the one to watch. So good.

Hocus Pocus

Celebrate Halloween by watching the Sanderson Sisters run amok (Amok, Amok, Amok, Amok) in Salem, Massachusetts. Also, Thackery Binks, best name in the history of the world.

The Rocky Horror Picture Show

Not to be watched alone. Not because it’s too scary, unless you have a thing about Tim Curry, but because there is nothing fun about jumping up and doing “The Time Warp” by yourself. You need other people to make that fun.

Army of Darkness

“Alright you primitive screwheads. You see this? THIS IS MY BOOM STICK!”

The Cabin in the Woods

Really creepy. Really funny. Not at all what it seems. Features Hemsworth. Pure Whedoney goodness.

Harry Potter

Any of them. There are 8 movies. But for creep factor, you’re not going to meet the middle three. The Prisoner of Azkaban, The Goblet of Fire The Order Of The Phoenix are the creepiest and most atmospheric of the series, and certainly the best of of them.

Shaun of The Dead

Come on, do I need to sing the praises of Edgar Wright & crew again? No, I think we’re covered there.

Young Frankenstein

This is probably what I’ll end up with. I love this movie so very much. I watch it any time, but it’s a lot of fun to watch at Halloween time.

Ghostbusters

There’s never a bad time to watch Ghostbusters. Never.

The Nightmare Before Christmas

The end all be all of non scary Halloween movies. You know how sometimes you forget how good something is? Like you remember loving something, thinking that it’s completely wonderful and everything, and then you encounter it again. And you remember. You remember how something can scare you, and make you laugh, and cry and feel all those things at once. That’s how I feel every time I watch The Nightmare Before Christmas. I was listening to the soundtrack in my office yesterday and giggling like crazy.

So that’s what I’m looking at for tonight. Anyone else have some fun stuff lined up for Halloween tonight?

Leave a comment