Marina

Her name is Marina Sanpierre.

She is a psychic. She is about seventeen years old. She nursed a long crush on a boy who chose somebody else, and she is mostly OK with it. She has long dark hair, brown eyes and brown skin. She is royalty, or at least royalty adjacent. She is not a fighter, though most of her friends are. She is a born diplomat. She is lonely. She is quiet. She is trained as a healer of some kind.

She has been with me since I was 14 years old, and I have never found the right way to tell a story about her, or even decided what kind of world I wanted her in. Every time I start a new story, though, no matter the genre, Marina finds her way in.

Marina has shown up in space operas.

Marina has shown up as a magical girl.

Marina has shown up as an eerily prescient cheerleader in realistic YA.

Marina has shown up in that Jimmy Buffett Jukebox musical I wrote half as a joke. (Swept away in a harddrive crash unfortunately. It was actually pretty OK.) She sang, “Banana Republics,” she was going to be an alto.

Marina has shown up in epic fantasy. (This is by the way, where she fits in the best, and where she is best developed.)

I think it’s time for me to make Marina the main character in something, which is why I’m announcing this. It’s the epic fantasy, or part of it, it’s the world that I’ve been playing in since I was 16. It’s called Cammadan. There’s a missing princess, a handsome knight who loves her, an evil wizard tyrant, and there’s Marina.

This is her diary. My goal is to update at least once a week, I have the first few weeks banked so that everything keeps moving. We’ll see how it goes. I’m nervous because this character has been with me for so long, and I’m protective of her, and also, this is the first time I’m putting fiction, not of the “fan” variety out into the world since high school, and high school lit mags and creative writing class don’t really count.

Anyway, the description above pretty much covers who Marina is, although I’m starting her diary at fifteen rather than seventeen for a lot of reasons, but I’m hoping to cover a lot of the events I’ve plotted, written and rewritten but never been happy with for the past fifteen or so years. I know a lot about Cammadan, a lot about more about this girl and she’s still surprising me.

I’m ready for the world to meet her and to know Cammadan a little. The first post goes up tomorrow, and every Thursday after that, until it’s run it’s course.

Leave a Reply

