Dapper Day Trip: Day 4: I have a bad feeling about this

I woke up bright and early on Monday morning and packed. The thing about unpacking was that it made packing super easy. Which was why I did it. I showered and got dressed and dropped my big bag off to be checked. (I love this service so much.) I then got on a bus to Studios.


The plan, such as it was, involved fastpasses for Tower of Terror, Star Tours and Rockin Roller Coaster. I rope dropped Toy Story (after a stop at Starbucks) and was on the ride by 9:02. So, I decided to walk over to Star Tours, and rode. (Imperial Droid, Kashyyk, Boba Fett, Death Star, Yavin) and then still had time to get to Tower of Terror with less than a 30 minute wait. So I did that, figuring I would double back and ride again with fastpass. I then did single rider for Rockin Rollercoaster, which means, I got my entire plan done BEFORE 10:30 AM. I was very proud of that. So, I then hopped on Tower of Terror again, and that was a bad idea.

I was feeling a little queasy, having not eaten much, I managed to make it through the ride, and managed to not throw up at all.

I know I look bored, In reality, I am trying not to vomit on that child…


I made my way back to Star Tours, and decided that I’d rather not risk it, so I settled in to watch “Path of The Jedi,” which I really, really enjoyed. Thematically tracing the saga of the Skywalkers (Including that little Punk Kylo Ren) is a different way to look at the story. I mean, not for me, who’s spent a lot of time thinking about the thematic connection between the Skywalker men. (And Rey. WHO IS A KENOBI! I WILL DIE ON THIS HILL!)

I decided to line up and watch The March of The First Order, and while this isn’t a hugely long experience it is an intense one.

It really feels like they’re invading…very cool


My stomach was still not great, so I cancelled my fastpasses and picked up two for Under The Sea & Pirates, and then headed off to Epcot to grab some lunch. I ate lunch in Epcot every day except Friday, and this time I decided to try for Chefs de France. I walked up at 11:45 and asked if I they were taking walk ups and ten minutes later I was settled in.


I ate the lobster bisque, and the goat cheese salad. And I had a glass of champagne, and I felt so much better. It was also all delicious, and effecient. Seriously, I’d read horror stories about this place so was nervous, but overall the whole thing was pleasant. I had a table in the sun room that looked over the showcase and could people watch, etc.

I also stopped by Mexico and picked up an Avocado Margarita, because going to Epcot 3 times is a weekend and NOT having a La Cava margarita should be a crime.

By 1:50 I was at Magic Kingdom, and opted out of Under The Sea, and headed right to Pirates. After that I picked up a Winnie The Pooh fastpass. After Pirates, I headed to Frontierlans to line up for Festival of Fantasy. There were dark clouds hovering over the (closed again) Splash Mountain, so the parade started 15 minutes early. This worked out, because rather than getting started at 3:00, we were done by 3:00. WOOO! I really love Festival of Fantasy and think that everyone should try to watch it.

Jiminy Cricket coming in for a hug!


My Pooh fastpass didn’t kick in until 3:25 and it was about to rain, so I hit Philharmagic, which, I hadn’t done since Juli and my trip two years ago.

I really love this movie, and I think it’s pretty wonderful. Then I rode Winnie The Pooh, which I hadn’t done in at least 10 years, and MY LORD is that ride lame. I mean, not in the “Dark Rides are Tame” kind of way. There’s not much to look at, the animatronics aren’t impressive and I now remembered why I generally skip this ride. Should have done Little Mermaid instead.

It was about 3:45 now, and I wanted to go to Disney Springs to get some early dinner/late lunch, and also, it was really threatening to rain. (It did, but not hard.) As I waited for the Disney Springs bus, I got a notification that my flight (already late, at 10PM) was delayed to midnight.

I recalibrated, decided to blow off Magical Express and still go to Disney Springs. I wandered for a bit, and realized that I was getting cranky, probably because I was hungry and tired. So I decided to eat at Homecomin’, and HOLY CRAP.

I tend to eat very well while I’m on vacation, particularly on my Disney Trips. Life’s too short to eat bad individual pizzas and chicken nuggets when you’re away from home. (Or at home, really…) but Homecomin is SO SO SO SO good. I had the fried chicken, which came with mashed potatoes (AND SAUSAGE GRAVY) and a cheddar biscuit. (AND SAUSAGE GRAVY) as well as a moonshine based iced tea cocktail, which was refreshing, delicious, and DANGEROUS.

I reiterate: SAUSAGE GRAVY


After that I decided to go back to Studios and much like “ALL THE PRINCESSES” do “ALL THE STAR WARS.” Granted, all that was left was the Launch Bay movie (meh) and meeting Kylo Ren and Chewbacca, but still. So I took a bus to the Yacht and Beach Club,  then a boat to Studios, which took a while. Finally, after my encounter with Kylo, I realized that I was definitely done.

He’s asking me to join the Dark Side…I managed to keep from shouting, “YOU MADE LEIA SAD” at him. I think it went well.


(I had also broken out into a rash, so that’s fun.) I got on the bus back to Animal Kingdom Lodge, changed into my airplane comfy clothes and called a Lyft to get me to airport. While I was getting INTO THE CAR, I got another text, noting that my flight was now delayed to 1:20 AM.

So while “See You Real Soon,” hit, I knew that I needed a back up plan.

So…I decided to get a cheap hotel room by the airport, so that I could sleep a little and take a shower. I wound up in a Spring Hill Suites and showered, watched Veep and Silicon Valley and did indeed nap a little. While I understand some people might baulk at the idea of a $90 shower, it was a necessity. Back at the airport, I glided through security and then onto the plane, where I had a row to myself, and thus was able to sleep the whole plane ride.

And that was the trip! I really enjoyed it, and next week, I’m going to do a round up that includes more details about the hotel, my favorites and the things I think might not be worth your time.

See you real soon!

Leave a Reply

