I Don’t Know When, I don’t Know How

Movie Post Season: Round 2

Moana inspires The Little Mermaid

I have a lot of history with The Little Mermaid. It was the first movie that I ever saw in a movie theater. I was two years old and my Aunt Mary brought me. I don’t remember that viewing, nor the countless after that specifically. But I do remember car sing a longs to “Part Of Your World” and couch dance parties to “Under The Sea.”

The Little Mermaid isn’t my favorite Disney movie, but I think it’s an important one. It’s considered the first film of the “Disney Renaissance” and therefore has a special place, also, “Part Of Your World” make me cry reflexively, and Ariel was my favorite Disney Princess to meet on my trip in last April. (We talked about my “thingamabob” which was my necklace that’s a beach badge…she was really great. Good job random Disney cast member!)

Anyway, there is something very special about The Little Mermaid, that I can’t quite put my finger on this time around, but I’m definitely glad I chose it for this. Ariel and Moana simply feel more akin than any of the other princesses. Yes, they want literally exact opposite goals, (Ariel wants out of the ocean and Moana wants on it) but something about their defiance of expectations really feels at home. Not to mention that there’s something distinctly Hei-Hei like about Scuttle and something distinctly Sebastian like about Maui.

Going back to this movie felt like getting a warm hug, though, which is why I think it works best in this context. I felt connected to something bigger when I saw Moana and I think that same connection comes through in The Little Mermaid. 

 

One thought on “I Don’t Know When, I don’t Know How

Leave a Reply

