Things I’m Obsessed With Right Now: The Ballad of Ahsoka Tano


Hey everyone! So this is a very special version of Things I’m Obsessed With Right Now that has almost everything to do with my preparation for Star Wars: Rogue One

Which is to say, watching as much of Star Wars: The Clone Wars and Star Wars: Rebels as a human being possibly can while still having a full time job and maintaining what is left of her sanity.

If you’re curious, that adds up to something near 15 hours in the past 3 days.

Anyway, let’s get to the nitty gritty of this post.

Ahsoka Tano. She’s amazing. I knew she was amazing a year ago when I started Clone Wars, but now I think she’s really, incredibly amazing, one of the best characters I’ve encountered anywhere, let alone in my fairly recent dive into the world of modern American animation. Ahsoka is confident, badass, vulnerable, has agency coming out of her many orrifices. She’s as powerful a Jedi as Anakin Skywalker or Obi-Wan Kenobi and although she is their student, she’s held up as their peer and in many cases, their moral superior.

Her decision to walk away from the Jedi order when they wouldn’t stand be her was brave and a good way to illustrate that sometimes, an apology just isn’t enough. Her commitment to helping start the Rebellion is also incredible. Her decision to help Kanan train Ezra is a huge boon to the series. (I also love Kanan. I could take or leave Ezra. He’s like Anakin if you sucked out the angst, and that makes him fine but boring, and we already have Luke in this series.)

But the end (I suppose) of her story, has left me wrecked, like to the point that I had to retool this post, which was supposed to be about Clone Wars and Rebels in general. Her decision to face Darth Vader, which lead to the unthinkable truth that he was her old master, and the one moment where he revealed himself to her and then killed her is just, I can’t deal with it.

Of course it was impossible to ignore, “Anakin Skywalker was weak and so I destroyed him.” In a few decades, well, someone else is going to us those same words to describe his descent into the darkness. (It will also make me cry there.)

There is a tiny part of me that wanted to subvert this well executed and dramatically satisfying story, plus retcon an entire series that I’ve loved my entire life by Ahsoka, literally just punching Vader in the face and says, “Seriously, Skyguy? I was gone for like a minute and you turn to the dark side? GET IT TOGETHER?” And then Anakin wakes up, he gets all redeemed, we save everyone a bunch of trouble and heartache. Alderaan doesn’t explode, Luke keeps that hand of his, Obi-Wan lives.

Downside? Han and Leia probably never meet, but that means they don’t create Ben, and he doesn’t become Kylo Ren, so Han also lives. Or, I guess not, because he’d probably have been killed by Jabba the Hutt, huh? OK, so things still don’t go well for Han, but as much as I love him, it’s a net gain for the galaxy.

Alas no, and a great character gets a satisfying and brutal ending. Also Kanan is blind now and Darth Maul is back. (The Clone Wars and Rebels people really love them some Darth Maul, I’m pretty sure they’ve brought him back like six times. I can only assume this will lead to Obi-Wan, since you know, they hate each other a lot…)

Anyway, I’m glad I finally invested in this story. I’m glad I’ve gotten to know Ahsoka.

Leave a Reply

