Westworld Wednesday: The Gods, They Demand A Blood Sacrifice

So never kick a dog,
Because he’s just a pup
You’d better run for cover when the pup grows up.
We’ll fight like 20 armies and we won’t give up.
Gavroche, “Little People” Les Miserables

While board member Tessa Thompson and Theresa set up Clementine to be violent in order to get Bernard fired, this was the first thing that sprung to my mind. To be fair, over the past week, Les Mis has been at the forefront of my mind, watching my young idealistic friends fight for the system as they believe it should be rather than as it is, but I think this verse in particular applies to Westworld well.

Oh, also, Bernard is a host, and Ford has him kill Theresa and this is why we can’t have nice things.

Also, that’s one theory that’s proved true. We’re still not sure that the whole William and Dolores story line is happening in the past and William isn’t The Man In Black (who isn’t in this episode, which also means no Teddy..BOOOO). I’m not totally sold on this idea, but I’m not ruling it out, since I thought the idea that Bernard was a host was equally nuts, but I’m still like, not sure.

Meanwhile, I am like 100% sure that Maeve is going to lead the robot insurrection. She’s immediately concerned about Clementine when she’s taken for the test, she insists that Felix take her to her, she’s thinking, continuing to demand upgrades.

Oh, also William and Dolores have sex, (BOOO) and he talks about how Westworld helps you find who you are and blah blah blah.

Mostly, though, I’m really pissed at the show for taking a narrative route that kills Theresa. She was an interesting character that we don’t get to see much and I’m particularly annoyed at her excising at the hands of men. I mean, I get it narratively but it pisses me off otherwise.

Also, I feel like Dolores has been nerfed. But Maeve remains the best.

Leave a Reply

