“I’ve Come Here To Bargain”

There was never much of a chance that Doctor Strange was going to be my favorite Marvel movie. Honestly, I liked it fine, but it’s just not really in my wheel house. I got what they were going for, and I appreciate the doors it opens for the MCU, but in general the movie didn’t quite do it for me.

Benedict Cumberbatch does a great job bringing Stephen Strange to life. He’s all arrogance and sarcastic quips and quiet power. It works. I’m not a huge fan of him as an actor. (I don’t like Sherlock and I would rate his work in The Fifth Estate as “adequate”) But I like what he does here. Benedect Wong is straight up great as, well, Wong, and Chiowetel Edgiofor is amazing as he always is. Tilda Swinton does a good job with the ethereal Ancient One, even if the white washing of this role is completely inexplicable.

It also does something that no other MCU movie has done, which is bring Benjamin Bratt in. So, I give it points for that. (I love Benjamin Bratt) Also Rachel McAdams is pretty good. And I’m really happy that magic is real in the MCU now.

Also, I’m sorry this review is so late. (I saw the movie on Thursday) formulating my thoughts has not been super easy.

POST CREDITS!

The first scene features Dr. Strange and Thor discussing, well, I’m assuming the plot to Thor: Ragnarok, but I can’t be sure. I assume that this will all dovetail together in Infinity War. 

The second one features the birth of a new villain, which I assume will, once again, become a thing in Infinity War.

Rankings (Update, I totally forgot to do this yesterday…I have NaNo brain)

  1. The Nice Guys
  2. Don’t Think Twice
  3. Popstar: Never Stop Never Stopping
  4. Queen of Katwe
  5. Pete’s Dragon
  6. Ghostbusters
  7. Captain America: Civil War
  8. Kubo And The Two Strings
  9. Star Trek Beyond
  10. The Magnificent 7
  11. Doctor Strange
  12. X-Men: Apocalypse
  13. The Legend Of Tarzan
  14. Suicide Squad
  15. Finding Dory
  16. Independence Day: Resurgence
  17. Alice Through The Looking Glass

Trailers

Logan: OMG, OMG, it looks so good. It just, it looks SO GOOD. And X-23! I want Laura more than anything else in the

Guardians Of The Galaxy: Volume 2: It just, it needs to come, and it needs to come now. We require Star Lord now more than ever.

Rogue One: It’s so close, and yet so far. You know?

Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them: SQUUUEEEEEEEE!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

