And That Is The Least Of It

I love stories about storytelling. I think it’s because I’m a writer that’s up my ass about criticism, but nothing gets me quite like talking about why stories matter to the larger world. (We like being reminded that we matter.)

Kubo And The Two Strings is not exactly a meta narrative, but it is deeply invested in both craft and stories, which fit in well with Laika’s hand crafted stop motion animation style. Kubo is beautiful, heartfelt, just scary enough and something of a triumph.

We follow our eleven year old hero Kubo as he hunts for his long dead father’s mystical armor, in the attempt to thwart his grandfather, the wicked Moon King, and his two aunts. His grandfather stole his eye when he was a baby for vague mythological magic reasons, and his mother has lost her mind in her grief over his father and trying to protect him.

Kubo is aided in his adventure by Monkey, a guardian brought to life by his mother’s magic, and Beetle, a samurai transformed into a giant amnesiatic bug man, because that’s the single coolest thing ever.

There’s a lovely twist that drives home the family theme of the whole thing and as I said before, no one makes movies quite like Laika. Kubo is another truly wonderful entry for them.

Rankings

  1. The Nice Guys
  2. Don’t Think Twice
  3. Popstar: Never Stop Never Stopping
  4. Pete’s Dragon
  5. Ghostbusters
  6. Captain America: Civil War
  7. Kubo And The Two Strings
  8. Star Trek Beyond
  9. X-Men: Apocalypse
  10. The Legend Of Tarzan
  11. Suicide Squad
  12. Finding Dory
  13. Independence Day: Resurgence
  14. Alice Through The Looking Glass

Trailers

Sing really does look so adorable. I can’t wait to watch it. I probably won’t go in the theater though.

Moana – It feels so close, and yet so far away at the same time. But like how you couldn’t keep me away from Creed on Black Friday last year, you’re not keeping me away from Moana this year!

Surprised, but also glad there was no Miss Perigrine’s trailer. I’m looking forward to the movie, but I’m getting as tired of that trailer as I was of Jason Bourne

Leave a Reply

