That’s What Being A Part Of A Crew Means

startrekbeyond_poster

As I’ve (maybe?) talked about at length, until JJ Abrams Star Trek came out and I saw it with my college friends, I had next to no interest in the series. And I’ve yet t have my usual post Star Trek movie “what was wrong with this movie from a trek perspective” sit down with my old roommate Jen, so I’m just going to have to evaluate it from the perspective of someone who doesn’t know enough about Star Trek to nit pick.

This is a fun, good movie. There are things about it that annoy me, a lot. (You damsled Uhura? Are you serious, Pegg?) But for the most part this is an exciting space adventure, that flirts with some serious thoughts about aging and priorities and legacy, but is mostly about bang bang explodey stuff.

3 years into their 5 year journey to go where no one has gone before, everyone, particularly Captain Kirk , are getting a little antsy. They miss home, and some of them families (Gay Sulu!). Kirk is ready to hand the Enterprise over to Spock, who is considering leaving Star Fleet entirely, wanting to take over the work that Spock Prime was doing. It’s quite touching how the movie memorializes Leonard Nimoy.

Anyway, all this ennui, gets pushed to the side when they’re sent on a rescue mission that goes wrong and are confronted with Idris Elba in a rubber mask, The Enterprise is destroyed and they have to find a way out of the mess. Revealing much more would drown us in spoilers so I won’t do that, but it’s all really fun.

The cast continues to shine, Chris Pine is aging into James Kirk better than anyone could have expected. John Cho and Zoe Saldana get a bit more to do this time around, though they still stay sidelined, Anton Yelchin’s youthful buzziness is going to be missed in this franchise. But as always, the stand outs are Simon Pegg’s Scotty, Zachary Quinto’s Spock and Karl Urban’s McCoy. The best parts of the movie are Spock and McCoy’s squabbles and Urban and Quinto play the parts perfectly. Scotty’s storyline with another stranded alien, Jayla is heartwarming and delightful. (Although she is really hot and Kirk spends exactly no time hitting on her. I find this disappointing. Not because I don’t love the progressiveness of that story choice, but because, I mean, it’s Captain Kirk…)

Add in a cool new location in the new Federation settlement Yorktown, and you’ve got yourself a rolicking space adventure with a good amount of heart.

Rankings:

  1. The Nice Guys
  2. Popstar: Never Stop Never Stopping
  3. Ghostbusters
  4. Captain America: Civil War
  5. Star Trek Beyond
  6. X-Men: Apocalypse
  7. The Legend Of Tarzan
  8. Finding Dory
  9. Independence Day: Resurgence
  10. Alice Through The Looking Glass

Trailers

Jason Bourne: God, I just want this movie to come out so I can stop seeing this trailer.

Suicide Squad: I’m so excited I could take a giant mallet to everything! This movie just looks so freaking good. We’re two weeks away from it, and while I’m still bummed I won’t be able to hit opening night, it’s going to be great.

XXX: The Return Of Xander Cage: I mean, Vin Diesel has to do something between Fast And Furious and Guardians movies, but was anyone begging for this to come back?

 

 

Leave a Reply

