Cosplay Corner: Gotham Kids

There are few things in my fandom arsenal that I love quite as much as I do the Batfamily. Those rascally kids and their various complicated relationships to Bruce Wayne are just the best.

The Best.

So I decided to channel them in my closet cosplay. In my attempts to branch out in the past year, my Batfamily love has fallen by the wayside. But I’ll always come back to them.

Stephanie Brown AKA Spoiler


I actually wore this one a few weeks ago…But I love it a lot, and I think it makes a good start.

The tee shirt, is a fortunate gift from Mary, who bought it to tease me about my inability to contain spoilers. I’ve gotten much better about it, but still. I was happy that it was in purple, which is Steph’s color, and I wore it with a black skirt, yellow leggings and a black hoodie!

Dick Grayson AKA Nightwing


I leaned Nightwing with this outfit, (because BEST, amiright?) but I did do a nod to one Dick Grayson’s other identities. I can do that because I love him. He’s my favorite comic book character. I’ve made it very clear. You can read just about anything from the past two years and find all of that. (But specifically, this time 2 years ago, I did a full a Dick Grayson appreciation week…I did not do this on purpose, it’s just a weird timing coincidence)

Anyway, the outfit. I’m wearing a blue tank top, under a sheer black tunic and black leggings. I’m also wearing a chain with wings on it. I went blue rather than red because, despite loving the New 52 Kyle Higgins run (I’m convinced that Kyle Higgins makes comics for me, specifically, between his Nightwing run and his Batman Beyond run…) I was never super into the design. I’m also wearing a grey courdoroy mini skirt, as a quick nod to Agent 37, because while I never finished Grayson, I thought it was a great book.

I could just go on ad nauseum about Dick, but I’ve done that, so you know, fine, whatever.

Robin: Just All of Them (But mostly Damian Wayne, because of Fancy)


I couldn’t decide exactly which Robin I was channeling, which is totally fine, really. So, this outfit is all of them, I’m talking Dick Grayson, I’m talking Jason Todd, I’m talking Tim Drake, I’m talking Damian Wayne, I’m talking Stephanie Brown, I’m talking Helena Wayne, I’m even talking Carrie Kelley BITCHES!!!!

Anyway, the outfit. Yellow satin blouse, with a  green camisole peaking out under it, thick red belt and black pencil skirt. I also wore a green cuff and green earrings, so I got all of the colors in there.

I’m leaning towards Damian with it, because of the satin on the blouse. I don’t see any of the other boys warming to that much fanciness. They’re a little bit scrappier. (OK, maybe Tim…)

The Red Hood AKA Jason Todd


After Dick, Jason is easily my favorite Batfamily character. (Oh calm down, I love Babs too. And Tim. And Damian. Picking favorites is hard.) There are lots of reasons to love Jason. His attitude, his completely ridiculous backstory, his intense and wonderful bro-mance with Roy Harper. (Red Hood And The Outlaws was the best book of the New 52 and you will not ever convince me otherwise!) Seriously, if you don’t know Red Hood, but like Deadpool? You’ll like Red Hood. But for this week, I was mostly just glad that his look is pretty easy to achieve. (Honestly, I’m contemplating adding a mask and symbol and taking it to NYCC…)

Anyway, Black tee shirt, light wash jeans, brown leather jacket (This is my Cap jacket, there’s something perverse about Jason and Steve sharing a piece of clothing, but I sort of love that…) I tied my hair back with a red bandana, which isn’t exactly a “hood” but does have certain outlaw signifiers.

I really had fun with these, and that one of them might transform into Con Ready, well, that’s just a bonus!

 

One thought on “Cosplay Corner: Gotham Kids

  1. Pingback: Cosplay Corner: Costume Season and Red Shirt | The Fangirl's Dilemma

Leave a Reply

