You’re Not Alone

A few weeks ago, Captain America: Civil War pulled off the really difficult feat of creating an ensemble superhero movie, giving all of it’s multitude of players the right amount of time and still centering around it’s main hero.

Apocalypse

X-Men: Apocalypse, had s different magic trick to pull off. Unlike Captain America, there isn’t a central figure of the X-Men movies, certainly not with a pull back from Hugh Jackman’s Wolverine. (Who does show up here, though in a completely brief appearance.) Apocalypse feels more like a sequel to X-Men: First Class (my favorite of the series) than Days Of Future Past (which I like a lot less), which is great. The new kids are exceptionally fun, especially seeing Sophie Turner as Jean Grey and Tye Sheridan as Scott Summers.

There were not many things I was as excited about this movie season as I was for seeing Olivia Munn as Psylocke, and she did a good job jumping off of things and slashing at people with her sword. She was appropriately badass.

The thing that I was happiest about in this movie was the shift in focus slips back around to James Macavoy’s Charles Xavier and Michael Fassbender’s Magneto, who are just so good. We also get a hammy fun performance from my boyfriend Oscar Isaac. (And a whole pre blueing out, shirtless…bless you Brian Singer), a reunion for Charles and Rose Byrne’s Moira McTaggart and a comics appropriate intro for Storm.

I walked out of the movie smiling, which is more than I expected, honestly. So it’s got that going for it.

 

Oh, and the post credit scene teased X-23. So, you know. WHAT THE HELL? YESSSSSSS!!!!

Rankings

  1. Captain America: Civil War
  2. X-Men: Apocalypse
  3. Alice Through The Looking Glass

Trailers

I waited too long to write this up, so I don’t remember most of the trailers. But I think there was Ninja Turtles, which, I am unreasonably

Leave a Reply

