Maybe Everything That Dies, Someday Comes Back

I’ve haven’t exactly been short on praise for Atlantic City Boardwalk Con, which premiered last year and where I had an amazing time.

This year, things got even better. The show itself felt scaled down (in a good way.) and instead of heading out on my own, I was joined by two companions, or as Kristi referred to them in her post about it, padawans. (Thinking of myself as a Jedi Master, BTW is the best thing ever.) Kristi and Juli came down with me and it just multiplied the fun.

We did all three days of the con. All three days had their own flavor and a whole lot of fun. And I really can’t stress enough how important the parties are to the ACBC experience. I’ve had fun at post NYCC and Special Edition parties, but the ACBC parties just blow the others out of the water.

Friday: I was dressed as Poe and Kristi was by BB-8, Juli came as a closet cosplay Wonder Woman that was actually a huge hit. (I’ve found that creative closets always tend to draw attention. And Juli’s really did look amazing!)


After the con, we went to Margarittaville, followed by a long walk on the Boardwalk down to The Tropicana, where we danced the night away at Boogie Night’s, watched a costume contest and overall rocked it.

Saturday, dressed in our Disney Princess Finest, Me as Belle, Kristi as Jedi Sleeping Beauty and Juli as Cinderella (pre transformation), we hit a couple of panels, one on Jedi Mash-Ups, which Kristi was thrilled about and another on Wonder Woman, where we watched a Wonder Women, a new documentary about her legacy, and then had a conversation about the role of female superheroes, what they should look like, who they should be.

Then it was on to the after party to end all after parties…Bally’s Wild West, where we danced, sang, screamed, drank and made friends. I’m only just now getting my voice back after the pure fun from this night.

On Sunday we lost Kristi, which was a gigantic bummer, but we were joined by Dom! Juli and I dressed as Rogue and Jessica Jones, we wandered, we learned about making props, I croaked my way through a game of password, and won a Wonder Woman Barbie!

In a quick conversation with one of the con founders we learned that next year is going to be dedicated to The Golden and Siver Age Creators and Characters (as this year was to Wonder Woman and last year was to Kevin Smith, I guess?) I’ve wanted an excuse to do either a Golden Age Wonder Woman or Silver Age Catwoman for ages, so, I’ve got a year to get that together.

So I’m back in real life. But I’ve already got 2 more cons lined up, Wizard World Philadelphia in June and Heroes and Villains Fan Fest NY/NJ in July. We’re all still waiting on what the ticket situation for New York Comic Con is going to be, but I’m going to do my absolute best to make it work, you guys!

One thought on “Maybe Everything That Dies, Someday Comes Back

Leave a Reply

