I’m One Of THOSE People Now: My Solo Disney World Adventure Part 1

It was really only a matter of time before I had the time and disposable income to become a Crazy Disney Person. The writing was on the wall when I went to Vegas and spent half the time thinking I’d rather be in Disney, but it solidified with my pure joy at my trip this past October, and diving into the Disney blog scene plus my growing friendship with Kristi, it kind of had to happen. (Yes, Kristi, I’m blaming this on you…)

But this weekend, the only free weekend I have for a couple of months I think, I decided to spend in Disney World, by myself, (save lunch on Sunday!), on my second trip inside of a year, well that clinched it. I’m a Disney Person now. I guess my next step is an Annual Pass and after that DVC..but right now I’m just at one trip a year stage.

And what a trip it was! I’m going to go Day By Day because that’s easiest for me!

Friday 4/29

After the genuine hell that was Newark Airport Security (seriously, I showed up at 5:30 for a 7 AM flight and only made it because the flight was delayed…CRAZY) I had an uneventful flight and trip back to The Swan where I was staying. I chose The Swan for a lot of reasons, I’ve always wanted to stay there, since driving past the weird stylish Swan & Dolphin buildings as a kid, and it was about the same price wise as staying at Port Orleans and it’s a way better location (walkable to Epcot and a minutes long Boat Ride to Hollywood Studios.) I registered, though didn’t get into my room (it was 10:30 in the morning, it was a longshot), changed out of my tee shirt and yoga pants plane outfit and walked myself over to Epcot.


It was the Flower and Garden Festival so Epcot was especially beautiful, and I was planning on being there for at least a little while every day (meals, for the most part). Since it was now approaching noon and the only things I’d had to eat were a Special K bar at 4:30 AM and a cookie on the plane, I was ready for some real deal good World Showcase food. I’d decided before leaving home that I’d grab a sandwich at Les Halles de Boulangerie in France since it’s not far from the gates and apparently awesome. So I grabbed the Beurre Jambon sandwich and a Mimosa and got going.


I sat down inside because it was noon in Orlando in April and I’m not a crazy person….and was almost immediately joined by a young woman named Heather, who was enjoying a day in the park while her boyfriend stayed at their hotel. We chatted and oohed and ahhed over our sandwiches, she mentioned that she was heading for a wine flight, I said I was going to wander around until I got into my room and then was heading to Hollywood Studios, we parted ways.

I then wandered around World Showcase, peaking into the various pavilions in a way I didn’t get to in October, since it was the Food and Wine Festival and I was focused on well, Food and Wine. I was particularly thrilled when I hit the Mitsukoshi Department Store in Japan and was immediately greeted by my favorite Pretty Guardians.


I caught the tail end of The Flag Show in Italy and also wandered in and out of the shops in China, and by the time I hit Germany, I knew it was time for me to grab a drink. Since I’d done wine in Germany previously, I went to the quick service restaurant and got an Oktoberfest, as well as a big tall water (Hey Water Buddy, even 1,000 away I can hear you in my head!) I drank it and wandered through the German Village and next door to Mexico, and into the pyramid (which is great, because it’s Air Conditioned!) and noticed that the line for La Cava De Tequila wasn’t terribly long. I was psyched, because in October it literally wound four times around the pyramid. So I popped in and got the Blood Orange Margarita, and you guys, I cannot make this more clear, this is the single greatest drink I have ever had. It was everything a Margarita should be, sweet and tangy and smooth and fruity and amazing.

At this point I realized that if I didn’t ride Test Track, I’d probably be too drunk if I waited much longer. So I headed in that general direction, stopping to say hi to Daisy on my way.


Got on the single rider line, got stuck in a car full of cheerleaders and thoroughly enjoyed my first Disney ride of the trip.


I then went to Spaceship Earth, because you have to eat your vegetables and also I love it. (I justify the fact that I never plan to do The Hall of Presidents again, by loving the crap out of Spaceship Earth.) By then I’d basically sweat through my clothes so I decided to see if I could get into my room. I could! So I showered, unpacked and then hopped right on a boat to Hollywood Studios.


Guys this was my favorite part of the trip and I know this post is crazy long, but seriously, it is amazing over there right now. It was like I died, got to heaven and it turned out that heaven was just full of Star Wars stuff. (As I imagine heaven probably is.)  Of course I did the usual suspects, I rode Tower of Terror (twice, once during the day and once after dark), and Toy Story Mania and The Hollywood Rockin Roller Coaster and The Great Movie Ride. I saw The Indiana Jones stunt show.


I skipped The Muppets because when it made sense timing wise for me to do it, I had a headache and the old 3-D was not a good idea. I also skipped Fantasmic, because I’ve seen it and I’d already cried enough by then (I’ll get to it) I hit The Hollywood Brown Derby Lounge for Dinner, and had their Shrimp and Grits as well as their white Sangria (for the most part I tried to eat places I didn’t eat in October, and I think this counts because the Lounge menu is completely different than the dining room menu) both were awesome, but especially the Shrimp and Grits which is a dish I would eat pretty much anywhere I see it because it is not common where I live.


Anyway, Star Wars, so obviously, let’s start with Star Tours, which I wanted to ride twice but only got to once. I got to see the new scene where you meet up with Finn on Jakku, and while this creates just a universe of continuity errors (Vader and Finn are not around at the same time, Star Tours…) I giggled and clapped when he popped up on my screen. I saw the tail end of “Trials of The Jedi Temple” show and watched the Younglings with their sabers and cried. Then I saw the Star Wars: A Galaxy Far Far Away show and cried. Then I went to do the meet and greet with Kylo Ren and Chewbacca and stood up to Kylo Ren because I was dressed as Poe, he got in my face, I was defiant, and I have a new profile picture (sorry Cap!) then I saw Chewy and he noticed my outfit and roared and saluted me and I cried.


Then I ran around taking pictures of all of Rey and Poe’s props so that Aless and I can use those as reference points (#cosplayproblems) then I found a spot to watch the Star Wars: Symphony In The Stars fireworks and I cried. Look, if you’ve been around for a while you know that Star Wars stuff makes me cry, this isn’t news. (The sangria didn’t help…) Studios was open until midnight so there was a lot of running around late at night getting stuff done but I made it back to the hotel and basically passed out.

Anyway, I figured I’d get the Star Wars stuff in today! May The 4th Be With You!

Rest of the trip report will probably be up next Tuesday…Love you all!

One thought on “I’m One Of THOSE People Now: My Solo Disney World Adventure Part 1

Leave a Reply

