It’s Calling To You

OK, so, I’ll start off by saying simply that I really loved, The Force Awakens. I thought it was funny, smart, well constructed with fun new characters and great action.

I was thrilled to see old friends and happy to meet the new ones. (Rey is everything you’d hope she’d be. So is BB-8) The new Cantina song as written by Lin-Manuel Miranda sounded like…well, I was listening for it, so I absolutely heard his touches, but if you didn’t know, I could see not hearing it.

You should know that I went with a cranky old fanboy who hates everything (Hi John! Thanks for coming and for paying me for your ticket.) and he did not like it.

Well, he liked seeing Han Solo again.

But I loved it. I feel like by now you all probably have some feel for my taste, I’ve been reviewing movies for three years here.

OK, so from now on we’re into spoiler land. I warned you.

 

SPOILER; SPOILER; SPOILER

 

BEN MOTHER FUCKING SOLO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (Organa Solo? Organa Skywalker Solo?)

Kylo Ren, is the so of Han Solo and Princess Leia and he turned to the darkside for, reasons? It’s not elaborated on, but his name is Ben (I love this, shocking no one). And he is strong with The Force, and his parents sent him off to train with his Uncle Luke, because he was TOO POWERFUL, and then he went dark, and now he’s well on his way to become a full on Sith.

Killing his father did a lot towards that.

Yes Han is dead. Yes, I cried. Yes, you see it coming a mile away. It’s fine. It’s good.  Escaping from Harrison Ford’s monster presence was going to be impossible moving forward.

We only get one “May The Force Be With You,” and it comes from Leia to Rey.

Rey does the Jedi Mind Trick. We still don’t know who she is, just that she was abandoned by her family. I still think she might be a Skywalker. Or maybe a Kenobi. Or maybe she really is no one.

Poe Dameron is the SHIT. I love him. He’s a straight up good guy, and doesn’t quite get enough to do, but I kept waiting for him to come back around.

And then there’s Finn. We learn a little about how the Storm Troopers, post clone, are recruited, basically they’re taken as children and trained. They don’t have names, just numbers. It’s Poe who names Finn. It’s very effective. 

So much 0f the language of action films comes from Star Wars it was very cool to see it use the language of other stuff. Notably, the final scene, has Rey, climbing a mountain to reach Luke. Who is only in that scene. And never speaks. This is a huge let down, but the scene itself is right from Peter Jackson’s Lord Of The Rings and it’s perfect.

I can’t touch on everything that I loved, but the one thing that really stood out to me was the use of Anakin/Luke’s light saber. Rey finds it in possesion of Mas, the motion cap character played by Lupita N’Yongo, and upon touching it has a vision. Later, Kylo Ren, tries to take it from her, knowing that it’s his legacy. (He’s trying to live up to being Vader’s grandson. Something tells me some one is BAD AT PAYING ATTENTION TO THE END OF STORIES, Mr. Ben Solo…Organa…Solo…Skywalker…)

Anyway, a chosen blade is not a mythological pool that Star Wars ever really played in, so I’m happy to see them dive into it. Captain Phasma, also great. Carrie Fisher’s return was delightful, and R2-D2 and C-3P0 also great. Overall, it was good. Ranks somewhere high above the prequels and just below Jedi. As far as blatant nostalgia trips from this movie season go. It’s better than Jurassic World and not as good as Creed.

 

 

 

 

END OF SPOILERS

Rankings

  1. The Martian
  2. Straight Outta Compton
  3. Creed
  4. Crimson Peak
  5. Star Wars: The Force Awakens
  6. Bridge of Spies
  7. Mockingjay Part 2
  8. The Man From UNCLE
  9. Spectre
  10. Ant-Man
  11. Mad Max: Fury Road
  12. Inside Out
  13. Trainwreck
  14. Tomorrowland
  15. Jurassic World
  16. Ricki And The Flash
  17. Avengers: Age of Ultron
  18. Minions
  19. Fantastic Four
  20. Terminator: Genisys
  21. Entourage
  22. Pitch Perfect 2

Trailers

Kung Fu Panda 3 – This is a movie that exists. I sort of forgot the second one existed.

Star Trek Beyond: Please be good. This cast deserves good. They’re great.

World of Warcraft: I know absolutely nothing about this world. But Joe and a few others I know assure me that it looks awesome. I defer to them on this.

Idependence Day: Resurgence: This is a damn good trailer and I want it to be a good movie. I’m still pissed on Mae Whitman’s behalf though. She should be in this movie.

Captain America: Civil War: Poor Bucky, Poor Steve, and I SWEAR TO GOD IF THEY KILL RHODEY I WILL CUT SOMEONE! (But not really…but maybe a little…)

Batman V Superman: Dawn Of Justice: I will not be deterred. I will not dislike this movie. I will love it. I will love it if it kills me.

 

5 thoughts on “It’s Calling To You

  1. Pingback: Star Wars Mani Monday | Magpie Making Do

  2. Pingback: The Special Features Awaken | The Fangirl's Dilemma

Leave a Reply

