Star Wars: Episode IV: A New Hope

The one, the only, the original. I found myself giggling with joy as I got started on this one Saturday afternoon. (I hadn’t even started drinking yet. only drank during Empire…) The thing is, with the nerd world deciding to blow so much smoke up it’s sequel’s ass, it’s easy to forget how really, and truly good, A New Hope is.

The opening sequence which sets everything into motion is delightful and the interaction between Vader and Leia immediately puts us in this world without being an info dump.

Imperial Senate? Rebel Alliance? Alderaan? These words mean something and create exposition in a way that’s just…gah, I could go on and on, but I’ll move on to other stuff.

Luke Skywalker sure is a great character huh? Luke tends to get the short end of the stick in a lot of Star Wars talk because Han is a lot more fun, but as boring, bland *insert yourself into his mindset* protagonists go, Luke is the best. He does have a personality, and it’s one that’s clean and hopeful and fun. (Granted, I am writing this after having watched Empire where we get to know Luke a little bit better.) But he’s also loyal, dreamy and kind of great. And Mark Hamill, is, I mean, he’s just really good at delivering weird dialog, which is a strange compliment to give. “I was going to go down to the Tashi station and pick up some power converters,” is the weirdest line ever, but Hamill sells it as a totally normal teenage activity.

I always forget until I watch again just how good Harrison Ford is, and am reminded why I’ve been in love with him since I was six years old. (I was a Han girl, my sister preferred Indy, this is a defining thing about our relationship.) But he’s just so, so, so interesting to watch and not bad to look at either. And Han is such a deeply fun character.

And then there’s Leia. I’ve written a full post about my love for that character and what she meant to me and I could go on ad nauseum about her, but they’re all just so good, and it’s hard explain how they all manage to be both totally heightened and totally natural at once and it’s wonderful and I love it.

And that’s all I have to say about it.

 

Leave a Reply

