Jessica Jones: Into The Darkness

Jessica Jones

I was going to analyze Jessica Jones episode by episode like I did with Daredevil, but I quickly found that I was less able to compartmentalize it the way I had that. So I’m just going to do my best to write up a the full thirteen episodes as the one giant story that they are.

I want to start by saying the Jessica Jones is not for the faint of heart. It’s intense in a way I can’t even begin to describe and deals in real grown up problems and themes.

It’s not as violent as Daredevil but it’s a hell of a lot darker.

The show is, like most Marvel projects, cast with flawless precision. From the top down, every actor is amazing. And we should start at the top. Krysten Ritter and David Tenant are superb. I had my doubts about Ritter but she is amazing, and her valley girl sarcasm is the perfect fit for Jessica.

And then there’s Tennant. Every ounce of whacky, gangly British charm (I know he’s actually Scottish) is on display with Kilgrave and twisted to be one of the most frightening villains I’ve ever seen.

And as for those around them? Carrie Ann Moss is exceptional as Jeryn Hogarth, a shark of an attorney (she is consistently referred to as “the best lawyer in New York City,” and I think that there are two little Avacadoes in Hell’s Kitchen, the best damn Avacadoes, one might argue, who have something to say about it.) Rachael Taylor as Trish “Don’t Call Her Patsy” Walker is exceptional, and the relationship between her and Jessica rivals every other Marvel team up. They were raised as sisters and love each other more than anything.

Mike Colter as Luke Cage, Eka Darville as Malcolm, and I could just keep going on.

The plot, which is twisty and perfect involves Jessica deciding to take Kilgrave down when he starts psychologically torturing her, trying to lure her back after he held her captive for months and made her kill people and also had sex with her a lot.

Also she has really hot sex with Luke Cage, like a lot. And it’s great.

Overall, Jessica Jones delivers. I don’t think it’s as good as Daredevil was but it’s incredibly difficult to hold the two up together. What it does demonstrate, in the same way the movies have, is Marvel’s ability to diversify. There’s nothing thrilling about Jessica Jones and that’s pretty wonderful.

Anyway, now I’m off to wash my brain out with some Doctor Who episodes where David Tennant isn’t terrifying.

One thought on “Jessica Jones: Into The Darkness

Leave a Reply

