NaNoWriMo: Putting It Out There For Accountability Reasons

Hey all! I’m diving head first into National Novel Writing Month. This is not my first, in fact, November and July (Camp NaNoWriMo) are two of my all time favorite times of the year because it pushes me to see if something I’ve been thinking about will actually work, or to get something out of my system in order to create room in my brain for something better. (A few years ago, for example during Camp, I wrote a VERY thinly veiled combination of the Bat-Family with Urban Fantasy YA tropes. It’s TERRIBLE and has since been lost to a crashed hard drive and I’m so glad it’s completely gone from both my psyche and any recoverable data stream, but at the time the idea of it so clogged my process that even when I was trying to write other things what came out was, “Not-Dick-Grayson and Not-Barbara-Gordon hook up on a rooftop.”)

This year I’m tackling an idea I’ve had for a while and I’m putting it here so that I’m a little bit committed to it.

I’ve always found it strange that fantasy literature seems confined to Medieval Settings and Modern Settings (where the magic is generally BIG SECRET) and started wondering what it would be like if a kingdom like Westeros or Tortall (of Tamora Pierce’s brilliant series) made it to a Regency Type Period.

Of course, I know that there are a few books that do this, I’ve read them. But I’m still fascinated by the concept and feel like it’s time for me to give this a try.

So this book is going to have the trappings of traditional fantasy. My heroine, one Lady Emily Williams, is a seventeen year old girl who learns that she has an epic destiny to save the world. The things is, she’s also like Jane Austen’s heroines, in that she is navigating a social world that is not thrilled about that prospect. Emily is going to also be dealing with emerging feelings for Xander Durrell, her arrogant new magic tutor, and the return of Gideon Brant, the boy she loved as a child.

It’s going to be FUN.

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: Putting It Out There For Accountability Reasons

  1. Love this. The reason I love the 3rd Fable game is actually because it brings the fantasy setting further into the future than these things tend to push. The combination of magic and the industrial revolution is just fascinating to me. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

