Sailor Moon Check In: Plot! FINALLY! Episodes 146-149

Hey! I’m back, I almost spread these out over two days, but then I decided I might as well just knock everything out all at once.

Super S

OK, so the first two are more filler, but very entertaining. First of we get “Juban Holiday” which is a play on Roman Holiday where a princess pretends to be sick and runs around a festival with Usagi and Chibi-Usa. She’s even dressed like Princess Anne, except she’s a blonde, so she looks a little like Princess Diana.

And…surprise, surprise, she gets attacked by the Amazon Trio and then the Sailor Moons save her.

Next up it’s Makoto’s turn to get her attacked on. The girls go to a dance at Mamo’s college and no one is dancing with Mako because she’s too tall, which is weird, because I get that she’s tall, but like, most of the dudes on this show are taller than her. I don’t get it.

Anyway, Tiger’s Eye winds up dancing with her, and she falls deep into crush town. She winds up waiting all night in the rain for him, and then Fish Eye traps her and the other Senshi save her and she decides not to give up on love.

Woo!

OK, so the two episodes that were new (on Hulu) this week are about The Amazon Trio learning they aren’t human and also Fish Eye falling in love with Mamoru and realizing that Usagi is Sailor Moon and Chibi-Usa is Pegasus’s Host, which is pretty great.

Also, the Amazon Trio are nature spirits, I think, and Pegasus takes them to live in the forest. Oh, and also some mysterious shadowy girls are now going to serve Madam Zirconia, who is not the big bad, she’s just like, the Queen Beryl level bad, which I sort of forgot about.

I think I might have to reread this arc of the manga because I don’t remember it at all, but I kind of can’t believe there was SO MUCH filler before getting to the main point, because Oh My God, it was so much.

Anyway, Mamoru and Usagi are actually really nice about Fish Eye trying to get in between them, which I guess is like a major personal growth thing for Usa, because she’s not normally great about that.

Oh, yeah, and I’m pretty sure the Chibi-Usa and Pegasus are like officially a thing, because when she’s talking to him about Mako and Tiger’s Eye they remind each other that they fell in love at first sight.

But, she’s still an elementary school student and, I cannot say this enough times, HE IS A FLYING HORSE.

I mean, I remember enough of the Manga that I know he’s a cursed fairy prince or whatever, but for one thing, I strongly ship Chibi-Usa and Hotaru, and for another he’s a horse. And she’s a child. I mean, she’s 900 years old, but still, a child.

I’m not really going to miss The Amazon Trio, since it took me most of this arc to even remember which one was which. But having to learn a whole new batch of name is going to be tough.

Other News

Hey! Crystal is coming back in the winter, I think? We don’t have a date or anything, but who’s excited to see some Crystal Outer Senshi? Also, an English dub of Crystal, which will be nice. I still haven’t decided how I’m going to structure these check ins once it comes back. But I’ll probably stick with the once a week, rather than going back to every other week, tacking on a Crystal recap.

But we’ll cross that moon bow when we come to it.

Leave a Reply

