Just The Doctor In The TARDIS With Clara Oswald

I’m always shocked by how Doctor Who sneaks up on me.

When I started watching the show on Netflix all those years ago, I wasn’t sure how I was going to feel about it, even after watching “Rose,” I had a feeling that like Star Trek before it, I was going to jettison Doctor Who into “not my thing” land.

And then along came “The Impossible Child” and Captain Jack Harkness, and I was hooked. Even more so when I came to know the The Tenth Doctor. Then Rose Tyler was gone and I wasn’t sure how I could get behind anyone else, but I came to view Martha Jones with great affections, and then Donna Noble.

Then I got to The Eleventh Doctor and rolled my eyes. I didn’t take to Matt Smith’s goof ball Doctor, and I still don’t quite get why the world is so obsessed with him.

I think you can see the pattern.

After the strange tone of last season, I went into this season with a hearty shrug, but I knew I’d watch, because I wanted to get to Maisy Williams’s appearance. (Still hoping she’ll be Jenny! Or perhaps a new regeneration of Missy…) And once again, I’ve found myself floored by how this show always, always wins me over in the end.

Which makes it a lot like it’s title character.

The two part season opener which saw Clara and Missy trying to escape from The Daleks while The Doctor had what might be a final confrontation with Davros, while contemplating if he should go back in time and kill Davros as a child, (spoiler alert, it is neither the time of Davros’s death nor does the Doctor kill the kid. I know, I know, it’s shocking.) blew me away with it’s fun action, plenty of Daleks, and interesting meditation on human nature.

Also, it had The Doctor riding a tank while playing guitar.

So, that's great!

So, that’s great!

I was officially on board for the new season.

This week we were treated to The Doctor and Clara encountering actual ghosts, which actually might not be, but it’s another 2 parter, and since I’ve already got one foot out the door to The Happiest Place on Earth, I probably won’t know what the heck is going on here for quite a bit, but the mystery and the joy that The Twelfth Doctor seems to have in solving puzzles is more than enough to carry me through.

A few things I’m not sold on though:

  • We know that it’s Jenna Louise Coleman’s last season, and we can see them ramping up for her departure already. I’m not a huge fan of this, but it’s not yet quite as heavy handed as Amy and Rory’s final few episodes.
  • The Doctor has ditched the sonic screw driver in place of a pair of Ray Bans. While I love what it does to enhance Twelve’s look, which as I’ve said a million times, I’m obsessed with, I don’t like losing the screw driver.
  • We need more Missy. Every episode that she isn’t in is worse than an episode that she isn’t in.
Leave a Reply

