ACBC, Special Edition And Why Small Cons are My New Jam

Two years ago I walked with a great deal of excitement and trepidation into New York Comic Con. I’d always been wary of Cons even if I was curious, and as I’ve previously stated, would take any chance to wear a costume.

I had a great time and went back and had an even better time my second year at NYCC. And, having a bit more disposable income these days, I decided to expand out. (And being locked out from NYCC this year, at least initially helped this decision along.)

So as I drove down the New Jersey Parkway to get to Atlantic City for the first ever Atlantic City Boardwalk Con, I was nervous, for a lot of reasons. I’d never been to a smaller con, where the general pop culture loving, band wagon jumping nerds created a safer space, and also, I was heading into battle without my con slaying partner, since Aless was busy (she was graduating from college that week, as if that were more important! I’m kidding of course, super proud of you my dear!) What followed was one of the most fun weekends of my life, completely with getting to ask a question of one of my heroes, and talking to a bunch of new people.

I was energized heading this weekend into Special Edition NYC, which incidentally, I also attended alone. (Though I at least one person who was going to be there! Hi John! Hope you had a good weekend.) I was prepared to chat with other con attendees and creators. I was nervous about walking around New York City in cosplay without the buffer of, you know, another person in cosplay with me, but I was excited.

Not twenty minutes into my wanderings around Pier 94, I was approached by a group of guys dressed as various DC Characters and recruited into the DC Cosplay photo shoot later in the day. While milling around waiting I met another girl dressed as Black Canary and her friend as Catwoman (They were the bombshell versions and it was great…Hi Jen and Jess, if you’re reading). I went out after the show and talked to and met people. I exchanged cards, and flirted with guys. I danced, I drank. I had the time of my life.

On Sunday, I sat and listened to Brian Michael Bendis talk about his life influencing his work and vice versa, I shopped for gifts for

Few if any of these things happened at NYCC. Yes, I talked to people on lines, but my socializing was limited to people I already knew for the most part. I’m finding at these smaller conventions, everyone’s having the same experiences, and everything’s more intimate and a little bit lighter. I’ll still do my very best to hit the big boys. And I still dream of San Diego, I just want to see it some day. But for now I’m looking for my next small to mid size show.

I’m leaning towards this one. Anyone else in?

Leave a Reply

