Farewell Mr. Whedon

Joss Whedon quit twitter, so I’m not blogging today in honor.

Haha, just kidding. Because I have opinions about this, not big shouty ones like a lot of people, but opinions just the same.

We’ll miss you Joss.

I mean, not me personally, because I don’t think I still followed him, but in theory.

I’m a big fan of Joss Whedon. I love Buffy and especially Angel, and this blog is founded on excitement about The Avengers.

But.

And this is a big BUT.

As everyone got all shouty in comments sections yesterday, I started thinking about J.D. Salinger.

I’m not saying that I think Whedon is going to lock himself in a bunker and not show anyone his work for 30+ years. That would be ridiculous. I don’t think anyone’s going to do that again. I could be wrong.

But I do think that Whedon deciding to lower his public profile will be seen with the same kind of confusion as Salinger’s departure from general society. I think that Whedon was, and is a brilliant writer and creator. I think that his work has been formative and definitive for a generation of creators who grew up in the media landscape he helped create. (No Buffy, no WB, no Felicity, no JJ Abrams…I’ve thought through these aftershocks a few times.) I think he did important things for women and female characters and storylines. I think he wrote one of the most incredible musicals ever and introduced a whole bunch of people to Shakespeare that wouldn’t have considered it otherwise.

But he doesn’t owe us anything. He already gave us those things. Why on earth are we demanding more of this man? We already got his work, and it’s been wonderful.

We don’t also need his soul. We just don’t.

Maybe Whedon is done. I hope he isn’t. But if he is, I get that. That’s up to him. That’s not up to us.

2 thoughts on “Farewell Mr. Whedon

  1. I assume he’ll be back. I hope he will. I don’t blame him for his departure, though. I can’t for the life of me figure out why some people post the stuff they do. Just because he’s high profile doesn’t mean he’s like, not a person.

    Like

    • Oh I think he’ll be back too, but the whole reaction (both people’s anger about Ultron which I thought was a delight and their ire at him leaving twitter.) was so over the top. I really couldn’t believe that people don’t understand how exhausted he must be. This is a guy who’s before three years ago, made tiny character driven TV shows with light punching and Web Musicals and just made a 2 1/2 hour movie starring 2 of the biggest movie stars in the world and has like 20,000 robots fighting a group of 8 superheroes.

      That’ll burn you out.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

