Rewatching The MCU: Come And Get Your Love: Captain America: The Winter Soldier & Guardians of The Galaxy

As boring as Phase 2.1 is just about everything is forgiven by the glory that is Phase 2.2. (Is Daredevil technically a part of Phase 2? I think it is.) It’s all so beautiful and violent, and fun and interesting.

And recent. It’s hard to reflect on these movies because I’ve seen them so many times and so recently, not that I didn’t love watching them again. I absolutely did.

Captain America: The Winter Soldier

The Winter Soldier

There’s not a lot to say about The Winter Soldier that hasn’t been said. It’s a remarkable achievement in super hero fiction, in action cinema and in extended storytelling. It sets up large sweeping changes in it’s universe while telling a compelling individual story.

The Winter Soldier is everything that The MCU does best. Kick ass action sequences, great one liners, an absorbing story and bromances coming out the butt. 

Seriously: Sam And Steve

Nick and Steve

Bucky and Steve

and of course most importantly

Natasha and Steve.

God, I love their relationship so much here. I love it so much it makes my heart all bubbly. I love how they tease each other, I love how they fight together, I love how by the end he’s pretty much the only person she trusts.

This is also, without a doubt, Samuel L. Jackson’s best performance as Nick Fury. It doesn’t really hurt that most of his scenes put him opposite Robert Redford, who, with the exception of RDJ, maybe, is one of the only MCU actors who’s anywhere close to his level.

Sebastian Stan and Chris Evans both do great work as hero and foil and I really hope Civil War answers the questions left by Winter Soldier.

MCU Bits:

  • I remember walking out of this movie with Aless and both of saying almost in unison, “What happend on Agents now?” We couldn’t even know how epic it would be!
  • I’m also excited to see what Winter Soldier’s implications for Age of Ultron will be. Like Thor opening us up to a larger universe, Winter Soldier created an inescapable status quo.
  • Not MCU, but a fun easter egg anyway, Nick Fury’s tomb stone features the “Bible” verse that Jules recites as he kills in Pulp Fiction. (Not a real Bible verse) It’s such a fun nod.

Guardians Of The Galaxy

Guardians of The Galaxy

Guardians isn’t as good as I thought it was initially. It just isn’t.

It’s still like really, really good though. It makes up for it’s flaws, of which there are many, with it’s considerable charm, and in that way, it’s a lot like it’s characters.

None of the Guardians of The Galaxy are particularly good people. They aren’t exactly monsters either. They’re just petty criminals trying to make their way in space. And it’s pretty glorious. Yes, the plot is thin as are the characterizations. (Gamora makes me more angry every time I watch the movie…she’s such vapor and deserved SO MUCH more.) But the performances and Oh God that soundtrack carry the day, and make the whole movie a whole lot of fun to watch.

And I’m sorry if you’re not into “We Are Groot” and Dancing Baby Groot then my guess is that you don’t exactly have a soul and should probably be locked away somewhere.

MCU Bits

  • The Collector explains what infinity stones are. So we’ve got that going for us.
  • Thanos is back. And…still not doing much.
  • I have great hopes of John C. Riley’s Nova character becoming the Coulson of the cosmic set.
  • Howard The Duck! I’m still shocked that they went there but so very grateful that they did. I hope, with his comics resurgence he becomes an actual presence in the movies, but I somehow doubt it.

So that’s that. Tomorrow night I hit Avengers: Age Of Ultron, followed by a review on Friday. I’m really excited for the movie and I hope it lives up to the hype. I probably won’t be exploring the MCU like this in such detail again until Infinity Wars, and that’s several years away.

Tomorrow though, I’ll reflect on the fact that I’ve watched every minute of MCU footage and what that means to me. Mostly, I think that I’m insane?

Leave a Reply

