*CLINK*

This week was an exercise in exhaustion and overkill for me. I stayed up later than I like to watching movies and TV shows that I like, but that I could barely invest my brain in.

I was snapping at my family, friends and coworkers.

I didn’t even enjoy my mid Scandal glass of wine last night, not really, at least.

But in all of that craziness, this sort of weird fog, there was a shining beacon…

Beyond Belief #1 came out on Wednesday.

Yes, I was exhausted, frustrated and more than a little bit mad at the world.

But do you want to know what’s stronger than any level of ennui?

It’s two people, who love each other more than anyone else in the world, throwing on black tie and going to defeat some ghosts, all without spilling their martinis.

Frank and Sadie Doyle, the toast of Park Avenue, trekked out to the suburbs to take care of the ghosts in their friend Donna’s house. (Donna, not yet married to her werewolf husband, and not yet turned into a vampire, and certainly not yet impregnated to with Harbinger of The Apocalypse.) They also kind of cast out my demons and I’m so grateful for that.

Of course when The Thrilling Adventure Hour ends in a few months I’m going to miss Paul F. Thompkins and Padget Brewster’s actual performances as these characters, I’m so glad I’ll still get to hang out with them once a month.

Because when it comes down to it, who cares what ever lurks in the hearts of men?

Unless evil’s carrying the martini tray, darling.

Leave a Reply

