And Also Ant-Man, I guess…

I was talking to a coworker, who I often have superhero chats with, today and he asked when Age Of Ultron came out and I went into bouncy giddy mode.

Then this happened.

Coworker: So, what else does Marvel have coming this year.
Me: Oh noth-Oh, right also Ant-Man.

This would be unremarkable, except, this isn’t the first time I’ve completely forgotten about Ant-Man. Just, zip, right out of my mind. Every. Damn. Time.

A little voice inside of me then goes, “Oh, it’s just because you don’t really care about the character at all.”

But here’s the thing. Seven years ago? I didn’t care about Iron Man. I didn’t care about Thor.

Hell, three years ago, I didn’t care about Green Arrow, and Arrow doesn’t have nearly the track record the the MCU does.

But the difference is that I’m just more generally interested in superheroes these days and I still can’t seem to get it up (metaphorically speaking) for Ant-Man. I should.

By all rights, I should love this movie, with it’s supposed period elements, and lead actor I adore, and Evangeline Lilly and all.

But I just can’t bring myself to care. I could barely care back when Edgar Wright was on board. And now, it’s just kind of meh.

I don’t understand.

Is this what other people feel like?

It’s pretty terrible.

3 thoughts on “And Also Ant-Man, I guess…

    • I also love Paul Rudd, which is part of why I’m baffled as to why I just. don’t. care.

      I haven’t been this apathetic since Thor and I was very wrong then, so it’s possible I’ll be wrong again.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I was also quite skeptical about Thor.. The only thought I had about it was “Oooh, Hot Blondie!” .. But it pleasantly surprised me as well ^_^ And Marvel has had a great track record (way better then DC) so expect good things from Ant Man too 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

