LLAP

vulcan_salute

So Leonard Nimoy died on Friday. I didn’t spend a lot of time Eulogizing him, but last night, as I sat with my family (at our Tuesday night getting dinner with my family and drinking a lot of wine, because that’s what we do night) and I asked what I should write about for today and we decided I should write about this.

So I’m going to talk about Leonard Nimoy and Star Trek and how it has effected my life even though, as I’ve outlined many times I’m very much not a Trekkie.

There are icons, and there are icons. As a Star Wars and Batman: The Animated Series fan, I revere Mark Hamill, but I don’t expect people who aren’t fans to mourn him. But there are nerds who aren’t into that who still consider William Shatner, Leonard Nimoy, George Takei and Nichellle Nichols who still understand that these are the people who invented fandom. So nerds everywhere were mourning Mr. Nimoy when he passed away, because that’s how important Star Trek and Trekkie fandom is to nerd fandom is general.

So much of who I am I owe to Leonard Nimoy, to Spock and to the world that Star Trek and Trekkies have created.

I’m grateful for that world, because without that world, I don’t know what my life would look like. So I’m grateful for Leonard Nimoy.

The other day, a friend of mine, Scott said, “To explain this, I just have to say, it’s like every geek you know just lost their favorite grandparent.”

A podcaster I know referred to him as “a real mensch.”

It’s just a very strange thing to contemplate.

Anyway, Mr. Nimoy lived long, and he prospered, and we’ve all benefited from it.

But to the rest of you, Live Long, and Prosper.

We all get to do what we do here because of this man. Let’s honor that.

Leave a Reply

