Careful the things you say

Into The Woods

I went to go see Into The Woods with my family (minus Mike, who’s in New Orleans for our cousin James’s bachelor party). So here is my belated ending to Movie Season 2014 (wrap up to come on Friday)

I really liked Into The Woods, because I really like Into The Woods. They preserved the dark weird comedy of the show in a really cool way. There were cuts that I missed, but all made sense telling this story cinematically.

The opening, which is a ten minute long musical number was executed beautifully, and introduced the picture perfect cast excellently. As was expected, Meryl “The Only Thing Wrong With Her Here is She Isn’t Bernadette Peters” Streep did marvelously with the “Witch’s Rap” considered one of the hardest passages of music in theatre. Anna Kendrick’s Cinderella was lovely, oddly funny and idecicive. Lilla Crawford was everything you want from Little Red Riding Hood (I saw her as Annie on Broadway, she was everything you wanted there too), Daniel Huttlestone should probably play Oliver or Dodger before her ages out, and he’ll just have every good kid part nailed. (He was also Gavroche) and Emily Blunt and James Corden play the heart as the Baker and His Wife very well.

I’m carving out special space for Chris Pine and Billy Magnussen as the Princes, because oh my god they were PERFECT! :”Agony” is one of those show stealing (or film stealing in this case) songs, but my GOD the way that Rob Marshall shot it and the way these two performed it was wonderful.

The film itself exists as something special, with solid performance, lovely visual and cool takes on Sondheim’s (very idiosyncratic) music. Johnny Depp’s Wolf was, well, he was the wolf, I’ve read about people being unsettled by his performance, which I guess means it was good? I was mostly distracted because I figured a hundred costume moms cried out in joy over that suit, because they now have a template for dressing high school Wolves forever.

I was somewhat able to separate this from my love of this show, because it was such a different animal (not Grease different, but still different) and I mean that in a good way. It was a really enjoyable film.

Rankings!

  1. Top Five
  2. Guardians of The Galaxy
  3. Big Hero 6
  4. Mockingjay: Part 1
  5. Into The Woods (I’m as surprised as any of you, how these turned out)
  6. Interstellar
  7. Godzilla
  8. Birdman
  9. Chef
  10. The Hobbit: The Battle of The Five Armies
  11. X-Men: Days of Future Past
  12. The 100 Foot Journey
  13. The Judge
  14. How To Train Your Dragon 2
  15. Lucy
  16. The Boxtrolls
  17. Jersey Boys
  18. Maleficent
  19. The Amazing Spider-Man 2

Trailers:

Jupiter Ascending: Mary and I were both really psyched about it. We’ll probably drag Dad to it.

Cinderella: Mary: I’m glad that Rob Stark is Prince Charming, not Jon Snow. I like him better.

Also we love Helena Bonahm Carter, and my mom wants to go see it for her birthday.

Tomorrowland: Me: That’s the movie that I saw Clooney talk about at Comic Con
Mary: Ohhhh, that makes more sense now.

2 thoughts on “Careful the things you say

Leave a Reply

