Sailor Moon Check In: That’s What I’m Talking About

So Sunday morning I decide to get all caught up on my Sailor Moon. I did so begrudgingly and mostly because I couldn’t find my remote to go into my DVR and watch Doctor Who. (I did find it. I did eventually watch Doctor Who…) and well, I have some crow to eat.

Not Phobos and Deimos, but still, crow.

Sailor Moon

Manga

Still no. I’ve been reading a lot of Neil Gaiman, sooo, yeah. Not so much with the Sailor Moon short story collection.

Anime

GUYS! Remember that plot development that I wanted? Did I ever get it. The 4 episodes that I had to watch this weekend were the wrap up of all of this Legendary Silver Crystal nonsense, which involved Sailor Moon fully becoming Princess Serenity after the rest of the Senshi and Tuxedo Mask are killed by a giant tentacle monster. So, yeah, that happens. But powered by the love and memory of her friends, Princess Serenity defeats Queen Beryl and resets the timeline, so that they can all live nice normal lives, with no memories of each other. If this had been the end of Sailor Moon altogether, it would have been lovely and bittersweet, but of course it wasn’t. Quite quickly, in the episodes I watched last night, Usagi caught on to the fact that the new bad guys are around and that she has to stop them and became Sailor Moon again. She decides to spare her friends, which leads to several very funny interactions, including accosting Mamoru on the street. Then they have to awaken the others because without the Senshi or her Moonstick, there’s not a lot she can do. So this is going to be fun.

Crystal

GUYS! Minako! So badass. So NOT THE MOON PRINCESS! But frankly, this episode of Crystal had some really great stuff. Minako, who is now Sailor Venus, and pretending to be the Moon Princess to trick the Dark Kingdom away from Usagi, shows up and tries to do things on her own. The other four are kind of not having it and show up to help her anyway. Meanwhile Momaru is very conflicted because he loves Usagi like so much, you guys, you don’t even know, and he can’t protect her, and also turns out his destiny is to be with this other girl? Of course during the big fight they takes hits for each other and in a fun bit of genre based gender subversion, Usagi tells Mamoru that this is too dangerous and kisses him and sends him packing.

It’s a really great moment and once again I can’t stress enough how great it is that being in love is part of what gives Sailor Moon her strength. It’s so great. I can’t even deal with how much I loved this scene. So, so, so, so, so great!

So that’s our Sailor Moon check in! Hooray!

Leave a Reply

