Time To Say Goodbye

Blood of Olympus

The thing about Blood of Olympus, 

No, the thing about Percy Jackson,

NO wait, the thing about Jason Grace

That’s not right either, the thing about Annabeth Chase,

The thing about Leo Valdez, Hazel Leveseque, Piper McLean, Frank Zhang,

The thing about Nico DiAngelo…

Is that they’re all my favorite character.

I can pick a favorite Harry Potter character, easy. That’s McGonnigal. I can pick a favorite Superhero, Batman on the DC side, Captain America on the Marvel. I can pick a favorite Disney Princess, it’s Cinderella. A favorite Sailor Scout, it’s Mars. But I can’t pick a favorite demi god.

Because that would mean choosing between Percy and Jason as to who bears the burden of being a leader better, choosing whether Annabeth or Piper can execute a side mission best. Whether Nico or Leo handles their crushing sadness and loneliness better. And I can’t make that choice.

I took longer than I should to finish Blood of Olympus, partially because of Comic Con catch up and partially because I really didn’t want this series to end. I knew that there would be death, and I didn’t want to see any of my favorite characters die.

No one died.

Well, Leo died, but he got better.

Here are things that did happen.

Percy and Annabeth made out on top of the Acropolis in Athens, but they also got cut so they woke up Gaea.

Jason decided to build shrines to every god at both Camp Half Blood and Camp Jupiter (this way he maintains his Roman roots and still be with Piper.)

Piper charm spoke Gaea back to sleep. Which is the coolest and most badass thing in the entire world.

Leo called Percy “Aquaman.”

Leo came back to life because Piper and Jason believed in him, and he flew Festus to rescue Calypso and they ran away together AND THAT WAS THE END OF THE WHOLE BOOK AND IT WAS PERFECT.

But the best was when Nico realized that he and Will Sollace are perfect for each other and then he came out to Percy and Annabeth and Percy was super confused and Annabeth gave him a high five. It was such a great way to do that moment.

Reflecting on this series is weird for me. I really love it, and it’s been such a huge part of my fandom vocab, that I’m not really sure where to go next. I mean, this world is clearly not going anywhere. Announced on the last page of The Blood Of Olympus is the new series, which is going to be about Norse Mythology.

Which is cool, if you’re into that sort of thing.

I mean, if you like adaptations of those stories…that take place in a modern setting.

For like a comic book.

Or a movie.

Or an epic amazing novel.

I mean, like, if you’re into Thor, or Loki, or American Gods, you might like a story about Annabeth’s cousin Magnus and his relationship to the gods of Asgard.

Maybe.

OMGOMGOMG ISTHISREALLLYHAPPENING? WHATSGOINGON?

Quick Note: You’ll notice no more comics write ups. I realized that it was putting me on too strict a reading schedule and keeping me on a sort of “comics only” path. I like reading comics. I like it a lot. But it can’t be the only thing I read. So I’m cutting back on a lot of monthly books and waiting for trades, I’m reading when I get to it and feel like, rather than every week as soon as I pick up. Rather than speeding through my comics this weekend, I finished Blood of Olympus, and finally finished Neil Gaiman’s Anansi Boys and started (and got mostly through) Neverwhere. After all it’s October, no better time for reading Neil Gaiman. Also Jim Gaffigan has a new book coming out, there’s a new Veronica Mars book coming out and I watch too much TV. My reading time has to be split. It’s just the way it goes. When something really clicks, I’m still going to write about it. It’s just going to be a little bit more loose, giving myself more space.

 

Leave a Reply

