Sailor Moon Check In: Mamo-Chan & Usako

Hey all! I missed the check in last week due to Comic Con.

So I’m trying to catch up. I can’t even remember if I’m up to date on the anime. Seriously, I do not remember if I watched last week’s episodes. I think I may have. But anyway…

MAKE UP!

MAKE UP!

Manga

I need to buy the short stories. And after this weekend I will. Seriously. I was giggly over a lot of it.

Crystal

USAKO AND MAMO-CHAN! They said each other’s nick names for the first time and it was glorious. Also she slept over for the first time (but really not the last, right?) So there’s that. It was a really lovely episode and while I would have liked to have seen more of Sailor Venus, when she showed up at the end it was such a cool reveal and also, I was thrilled to see a whole episode about Usagi and Mamoru’s love for one another. And that that love gave them the power to defeat their enemies. Because, and I can’t say this enough, this is one of the best things about Sailor Moon as a narrative. Feelings particularly good lovey happy ones are powerful in this story and that’s such a wonderful and refreshing thing. It’s not rage or grief or vengeance that powers the senshi, it’s love and joy and friendship and moon sparkles.

Original Anime

Like I said, I don’t even know with this anymore. I’m so bored by the recent run of episodes. I need it to pick up plot wise. Blah blah blah rainbow crystals. Blah bloh blah Brainwashed Endymion/Tuxedo Mask/Mamoru. Kunzite still can’t figure out that USAGI IS OBVIOUSLY SAILOR MOON. I’ll keep watching because I want to see everything, but I’m really behind on my DVR because of Con, and I just can’t bring myself to skip getting caught up on Parenthood to watch Sailor Moon and Tuxedo Mask stare at each other in incomprehension for an hour. I’m just not going to do. GIVE ME SOME PLOT DEVELOPMENT!

Other

Whoo, baby, am I glad that I decided not to cosplay Sailor Mars this weekend. I saw plenty of truly incredible Sailor Moon cosplay and mine would have looked pretty sad, my friends. I also bought Babs Tarr’s amazing print of the punk rock, biker sailor senshi. I also bought an adorable tee shirt with the girls all around Batman. Because even though I have a rule that I’m not allowed to buy anymore Batman tee shirts, this one was so cute, I couldn’t help myself. However, I now own more tee shirts featuring Batman than there are days in the week. So, that’s fun. I did almost buy a tiny figure of Rei, but she didn’t have a price, and the others were around $50, so I passed. But I did require a lot of reigning in. I wanted to buy all of the Sailor Moon stuff that I saw.

Leave a Reply

