New York Comic Con 2014 Day 4

Well, it’s back to the real world now, but I do have one more day of crazy recapping to do! But yeah, I hate the real world. In the real world, I wear boring black pants and a sweater, not a leather vest over a leotard and fishnets.

In the real world, I don’t sit in a room full of awesome women and have Kelly Sue DeConnick tell me that I am a force to be reckoned with. Comics legends never take pictures with me in the real world.

Ugh. Last night I couldn’t wait to be home and done with Con, and now all I want is to be back at Con.

It really was an exceptionally fun weekend.

Day 4 was PACKED. We sat through 3 panels, all of which were great. But it started with getting up at the ass crack of dawn so that we could get wrist bands to Scott Snyder and Greg Capullo’s signing that afternoon. We did it! Seriously, this was hard for us, neither Aless nor myself is great about getting out in the morning. She tends to just keep sleeping and I like to lounge around barely moving in the mornings, even if I’m technically awake. But we did it. We got to go to the signing. This is a big deal because Aless has been chasing Snyder for all four years of comic con and also it’s Greg Capullo and Scott Snyder, and they’re Scott Snyder and Greg Capullo. The Court of The Owls! Death of The Family! Zero Year! Also Snyder signed my copy of Wytches #1. We talked about feeling wilted at the end of a con. Although, Greg assured me that I looked beautiful, it was obvious I was done, based on my inability to follow basic chit chat and the fact that my voice was almost completely gone.

Good save Capullo!

But the panels. Ohhh the panels.

We started out the day with The Thrilling Adventure Hour Panel, because I did miss the show on Saturday night. (Chriss and Glenn went. I am jealous.) This panel was super exciting a informative. First of all, sadness, after April, the live show is ending. This makes me deeply sad, but it’s because SO MANY OTHER THINGS ARE HAPPENING with The Thrilling Adventure Hour. There’s going to be in studio episodes now. (Giving more flexibility to The Bens and The amazing cast). There’s going to be Beyond Belief and Sparks Nevada comic books. They’re going to do a web series of Sparks Nevada, mostly taking place in the Space Saloon (where as you may know, we don’t want no trouble.) The concert film is apparently still happening. Yay!

AND they’re actually shooting the Beyond Belief pilot. I would die if we got a real life Beyond Belief show. And then I could hang out with Frank and Sadie!

The other panel was a Marvel panel about diversity and new books and we ran to pee so we missed the beginning and I don’t remember what it was called unfortunately, but it was very cool. I should not we only went to this one because it was in the same room as TAV and The Women of Marvel but in between them. I’m glad we stayed. There was a lot of talk about Kamala, which I am always on board for. There was some talk about America Chavez and The Young Avengers and in general it was just cool and informative and I’m looking forward to 2015 and Marvel.

But then was the Women of Marvel panel. Look, I can’t describe it. It just felt like getting an amazing hug. If you’re at a convention where there is a Women of Marvel panel, please go. It’s exceptional and inspiring. But we’re getting a Gamora ongoing (written by the screenwriter of Guardians) and a YA Black Widow book. So that’ll be fun. Also G. Willow Wilson is doing a run on X-Men, which I guess means that I have to start reading X-Men again, because I love Willow’s writing. Again, a ton of Kamala and Carol talk, not like a lot of Kelly Sue ranting, but enough that I was satisfied and to quote Aless, “you could see her trying not to interrupt people to talk but when she did it was amazing!” (Also, Kelly Sue found out about a death threat DURING THE PANEL and didn’t leave. If that happened to me I would have run out of the room crying and had a panic attack. I want to be her.)

I had an amazing weekend. I can’t even begin to explain how much it meant to me. I met some great people (Shout outs Jess and Alex! Hope to hang out again soon!) and talked to some artists who have really inspired me.

I’m not putting any pictures here, because everything is on my facebook! (Everything I have so far at least!) So go to facebook, look at the pictures, like the page. You won’t regret it, I’m generally fun!

The blog goes back to normal this week, with lots of Sailor Moon, tons of Korra, Agents, Arrow, Gotham, and comics. Last week’s wrap ups will be posted early Saturday and Sunday morning before this week’s counterparts. I’m also going to try to find some time to talk about the indies I’m reading in addition to The Big 2, maybe a monthly check in? I’m reading maybe 6 or 7 indies a month…so it’s a possibility. I don’t know. I have a few weeks to figure it out.

Leave a Reply

