Cosplay Explosion!

Cosplay has been a part of my life far longer than I knew it was called cosplay, back when I just called it “playing dress up.”

I was the girl that always wanted to play dress up. I planned my Halloween costumes starting in midsummer. I tried to recruit (usually with dismal results) my friends into group costumes. Long after I quite dance, I would go to recitals and salivate over the costumes. Theater quenched my thirst for a very long time. And of course, once my mom took over a lot of the costuming on the shows that my sister and I did, well, that helped even more. I still put way more thought and energy into Halloween than any of my friends (save Katie. Katie does magical things on Halloween. MAGICAL!)

It’s bled over into my life in a big way, but still only at one time of year. Costumes, at least for myself, belong to the fall. I realized that this year, I have 7 occasions for wearing costumes and I’m really excited about it.

First is tomorrow. I’ve talked about Lead East, a vintage car show and 50’s theme weekend that I attend with Katie every year. Luckily, it’s never too hard to come up with something to wear there. If I don’t have something, Katie’s mom will. Also, 50’s style is easy to ape, even with modern clothes, especially if you’re me and Cardigans and capri leggings make up 60% of your wardrobe, and you own 6 waist cinching

Then there’s the 4 days of Comic Con, which I planned on dressing up for all of. (I’ve since backed off on this, but I’ll get there.) Last year, I had a lot of success with my Supergirl costume, and was looking forward to getting creative again this year. I was nearly finished with one of my chosen costumes anyway, and I’m really excited now that I only need a few extra pieces for it.

And then there’s Halloween. These days I generally give the least amount of attention to Halloween. I’m happy enough with how store bought costumes fit me these days to just toss a cute one on, but I’m still picky enough that I’m going to look for something that’s at least decently made. Luckily, this year, there’s a Spirit Halloween opening on the way back to my house from the gym, so there’s no way I won’t be stopping in a few times to pick something up! Yay!

And then finally there’s my birthday party, which, for the past few years, has been a themed costume party. It started with my Super Hero Themed 25th, and last year exploded with a Great Gatsby Themed 26th. I mean, really, I had more fun in my beaded gown, and I’ve never seen my friends get quite so into something as that. This year, well, this year is going to be a lot of fun.

So obviously, I’ve made a lot of work for myself (and my mother, who somehow, winds up cleaning up my messes…), and it’s cool, because it’s work that I enjoy and that I get an immense amount of enjoyment out of it. But I realized that I was going to have to do some combining at some point.

I didn’t expect the combination to come the way that it did. I really didn’t expect that the combination would come with Lead East and Comic Con.

Tomorrow, as I head out to Parsippany, I’m going to be dressed as Betty from the Archie Comics series, in a Riverdale High cheerleading uniform, put together courtesy of a cheap polo I bought from K-Mart, some iron on letters and my mother being ridiculous and making me 2 skirts, one, that didn’t quite fit and that’s color was off, and the one that I’ll be wearing.

I’m so overwhelmingly excited to wear this costume, not just to Lead East but to New York Comic Con in October. I may redo the shirt in between, depending on how it photographs, but I’m very excited.

As for the rest of Comic Con, I’m finally getting to wear the Black Canary costume that I’ve been working on since January. I have a leotard (and booty shorts to wear under it.) I have fishnets, I have combat boots, I have a cool zippy leather vest thing that’s going over the leotard. I have a leather jacket, I have a wig. I basically just need fingerless gloves, and I’m all set. I’m even more excited about this because Aless is planning on doing Zatana. As for my hope of doing Sailor Mars, I’m putting it on hold, I’ve gotten back to the gym, but the pieces I have to put it together I won’t feel comfortable wearing unless I lose 10 pounds. That’s not out of the question, but well, you get it. Day 4, I’m going to wear clothes, like just my clothes, either a dress or a nerdy tee shirt, or whatever. But 4 days of costumes is a lot.

Halloween. No clue. No idea what I want to do. Can’t wait for the Halloween Stores to open so that I can shop and get ideas.

And my birthday this year is going to be the biggest ever. I made the event for the party on facebook last night. This year’s theme is HBO! Basically, this is because I wanted to do Game of Thrones, so that I could dress up as Maegery, but it was pointed out that if you are lazy or not into Game Of Thrones that’s a tough theme. So we expanded out, and now all HBO originals are fair game.

So that’s where I’m at. I’m really excited!

Leave a Reply

