Take A Deep Breath, The Doctor Is Back

OK, so, good week for no Girl Meets World, yeah? Because it means I don’t have to wait until Wednesday to summarize what I thought of Deep Breath, the series 8 premiere of Doctor Who, which more importantly introduced us to Peter Capaldi’s 12th Doctor.

OG Badass Doctor

OG Badass Doctor

Change was the watchword here. This episode was very focused on change and evolution and moving forward.

And as a result, rather than kicking off with The Doctor in the TARDIS as we normally do after a regeneration, we begin with a dinosaur rampaging through Victorian London. Obviously, Madame Vastra, Jenny and Strax are on the case. I’m glad to see them, especially because at one point on Saturday I watched “The Crimson Horror” and was reminded of how strong a character Jenny is. When the dinosaur coughs up the TARDIS, obviously our favorite misfit detectives go running.

Then we meet the Doctor. He’s confused, he’s old, he’s Scottish. He gets Clara and Strax mixed up. He speaks dinosaur! He doesn’t understand the concept of bedrooms. He runs away and babbles to homeless people in alleyways. He thinks he can open bottles with his eyebrows.

Meanwhile, there’s Clara. She’s the first companion since Rose to go through the trauma of a regeneration. And while Rose was surrounded by Mickey and Jackie, who could support her, Clara is stuck with Vastra and Jenny and Strax, who seem to think that her confusion and inability to accept the new face of the Doctor is a sign of weakness. Vastra in fact lectures her about it, and she rightfully stands up for herself, insisting that she’s worried and scared, not upset at losing her hot young doctor who she went adventuring with. Jenna Coleman does a very good job selling the speech she has to give.

Anyway, as they hunt for the Doctor it turns out a lot of people are spontaneously combusting and it has something to with some clockwork droids who are stealing their body parts. Sound familiar? It should. These droids are from The SS Marie Antoinette, the sister ship to the SS Madame De Pompadour. So that’s fun. It’s always nice to be reminded of “The Girl in The Fireplace,” right?

Clara, The Doctor, Vastra, Jenny and Strax defeat the droids and the doctor peaces. A heartbroken Clara asks Vastra if she can start working with them, but then the Doctor Comes back. After returning, he and Clara have a long serious talk about their relationship and their feelings and she says she’s not sure she can stay. Then her phone rings. She answers.

IT’S 11. While I expected some kind of Matt Smith cameo in the beginning, I was ready to move on without it. After all, the show had taken great pains to show that things were new. But it was a welcome surprise and a touching moment and I swear I wasn’t crying. I definitely didn’t start sobbing after the call, when The Doctor begged Clara to just see him. Their new relationship dynamic is going to be fun.

So that’s what happened? My thoughts, well, they’re fairly well documented on Twitter. I loved all of the Clara stuff, it was nice to see her finally getting her due. I’m enamored of Capaldi and the direction they’re going with this new Doctor. As a NuWho fan I’ve never understand the outrage at the young sexy doctors, but fine, if this makes people happy, let’s go for it.

And finally, I’m obsessed with the new Doctor costume. It’s so cool looking. I was surprised at how happy I was to see Vastra, Jenny and Strax, because after watching “The Crimson Horror” I realized, “Wow, we’ve seen them a lot huh?” But they always charm me.

So now we’re headed “into darkness,” which, I mean, fine, I don’t see how we could get darker, but sure.

Does anyone know if After Who is sticking around? Or was it just for the premiere? I just like to know where and when I can get my daily dose of Hardwick.

2 thoughts on “Take A Deep Breath, The Doctor Is Back

    • Yeah, the general plot of a Doctor Who episode hasn’t hit me as spectacular awesome since, God, maybe that time they all got stuck in alternate universe and Rory has a pony tail? So I’ve readjusted my expectations to just enjoy moments. So, many good moments strung together equals a good episode in my book.

      But I see what you mean.

      Like

Leave a Reply

