Ben As Bruce: Better than Batfleck?

batman_symbol___yellow_906

So I know I’m a few days late on this, and I don’t normally report on grainy half baked set footage, but I mean, come on, this is our first glimpse of Ben Affleck as Bruce Wayne, and I would be remiss not to talk about it.

After all, I’m me.

I’ve mentioned before that in many, many ways, I feel like playing Bruce Wayne in a movie is way more important to that movie’s success than playing Batman. It’s certainly more difficult. As much as I love The Dark Knight Trilogy, the one thing that I never quite bought was that portrayal of Bruce Wayne the man. Except for Begins we know very little about Bruce, who he is, and how he deals with his life. And I find that stuff interesting.

It’s why “Bat-Dad” is basically my favorite incarnation. Why I think I like “Death of The Family” better than “Court of The Owls,” despite the fact that “Court of The Owls” is technically a much, much stronger story. Why I prefer Batman Beyond & The New Batman Adventures to the initial run of Batman: The Animated Series.  And frankly, I think that it’s the incarnation that will work best for this particular universe. Yes, Bruce should be kind of cranky and detached, but there should be a small group of people who know that it isn’t that case. Dick, Barbara, Tim and Alfred, and to a lesser extent Jason, fight for this man because they know that he’ll do what’s best. Damian’s a different story, he fights to prove himself to his father…let’s not go down that particular rabbit hole though, because it’s a sad one.  And I’d like to see that shown in this movie, and not just so I can see my favorite characters, but because I think that it’s an element that Ben Affleck could play very well.

And the reason I think that is because of one particular scene in Argo.

When he sits down at that kitchen with the people who don’t want to go with him and explains that he does know what he’s doing and they have to trust him. That’s a Bruce Wayne moment. It’s the moment that, for a movie where he will more than likely be teaming up with a reluctant Superman, will have to play. You need that moment when these two men decide to trust one another. And I think it’s a moment that Affleck is the guy to play and that suits the “Bat-Dad” personality best.

But if you want an example of the rougher more vengeance minded Batman, who is a good deal more likely to be in this movie, and who I also think Affleck will do pretty well, I suggest you watch any of his speeches from the latter half of Dogma. Or just watch Dogma. Because it’s a really good movie. And he’s really good in it. He plays an angel, and there’s poop monster, and Chris Rock and Alanis Morrisette is God.

Sorry, I just really like that movie.

Anyway, we’re just going to have to wait until March 25, 2016 to see. Which by the way, is interesting. We were all wondering who was going to blink in the Cap 3/Dawn of Justice staring contest and it was DC. It’s good news for me, because now I don’t have to hold this movie up against other Movie Season movies, and specifically against a Captain America movie…which, given how I feel about the first two of those it would probably lose against.

And I don’t want to have to choose between Steve and Bruce. Because for a movie? I don’t know that Bruce would win that fight. In comics? Of course he would.

Because I mean, let’s face it, wouldn’t just be Steve fighting Bruce. It would be like Sam Wilson vs. Dick Grayson, which would be a decent fight, Jason vs. Bucky (Jason wins that. Jason wins that fight EVERY TIME!) Ugh, such a good fight.

But in choosing which movie to go see? I might pick Cap.

But it’s a cow’s opinion at this point. It’s just moo.

4 thoughts on “Ben As Bruce: Better than Batfleck?

  1. Pingback: Ben As Bruce: Better than Batfleck? - Ben Affleck To play Batman in 2015

Leave a Reply

