Time To Get Personal: Careful The Things You Say

Into The Woods

One of the things that was nice about not having a lot of comics to read last week, aside from it giving me a chance to get through two volumes of Sailor Moon manga, is that I got to do some theatre work and thinking.

Theatre is my first love, which is why I spell it with that pretentious re ending, despite that I’m not even slightly British. Aside from the fact that I helped build the set for the production of Little Shop Of Horrors that I’m producing, which was something I hadn’t done in a while and reminded me of all the stuff I like about being involved in this art form, I went to go see a production of Into The Woods at the theatre company I worked with all through high school and most of college.

Couple this with the release of the trailer for Into The Woods, and I was wistfully thinking about that show, it’s music and the lessons it imparts.

You’re all going to have to put up with me talking about Into The Woods a lot for the next few months. As more details about the film leak out I’m going to start whipping up into a bigger and bigger frenzy about this.

Of course the trailer was fabulous. I was talking about it with people all weekend. (Mostly because the people I was with this weekend hadn’t seen Guardians yet and according to my friend Greg I have “spoiler face” so I wasn’t allowed to talk about that.) The orchestral version of “Stay With Me,” was absolutely perfect. It looks dark and creepy and really, really cool.

But Into The Woods is such a cool show for a lot of reasons, but the second act is probably one of the most exceptionally good in the history of musical theatre. I remember the first time that I saw the show, a high school production when I was in middle school. I was blown away, I cried, I fell in love. When I was in it in college as Jack’s Mother, it was a dream come true.

I love this show and it’s message of being careful what you wish for. I love it’s strange universe where fairytales and archetypes are also just everyday people. I love it’s flawed heroes and of course it’s beautiful music.

And I’m trying to keep it’s core lesson in my heart as I try to move forward with my life. Actions matter, there are consequences. Wishes matter, thoughts mater, words matter. I’ve mentioned before that I’m trying to cleanse my life of a lot of negativity lately, and meditating on Into The Woods has reaffirmed this desire in me. I’ve been whining a lot lately, and then I had this wonderful weekend, starting with Thursday, spending the evening with Aless, peaking with a great set build and a night sitting by the fire with my friend Lauren making “super s’mores,” and ending with a night out on Monday with some new and old friends and realizing how wonderful my life and the people in it are.

One of the other main themes of Into The Woods is “No One Is Alone” which also works for what I’m thinking about. My life, like everyone’s doesn’t exist in a vacuum, “you move just a finger, say the slightest word,” it will change things, effect people. I can do that, anyone can do that, for good or for ill. So try to do it for good. But also remember that “witches can be right, giants can be good…no one acts alone.” Everyone matters, you, I, everyone is the most important person in someone’s life at any given moment.

I’m going to try to carry that with me as I go forward through the world.

Because in the end, “everything you learn there will help when you return there.”

I wish.

2 thoughts on “Time To Get Personal: Careful The Things You Say

Leave a Reply

