Marvel Comics Wrap Up: 7/9/2014

So with all of the Grayson excitement, it was almost easy to forget that I also bought a butt load of Marvel Books this week. But I did. Also, I did a little bit of catching up and went into this week with a new philosophy about reading X-Men, but I’m still probably going to phase them out, because of Money.

Anyway, time to dive in:

photo (9)

All New X-Men #29: 

So last weekend, I was hanging out at Juli’s and I met her friend James and we were talking comics. I said I wasn’t a huge X-Men fan because it’s impossible to catch up. He said, “Yeah, that’s what being an X-Men fan is. You read and read and try to catch up until you realize you can’t and just give up.” So, I’m not quite ready to give up. Also, I guess now that this stupid storyline is probably over for a while, with Xavier Jr locked up in a S.H.I.E.L.D. prison and the hive mind freed or whatever the hell happened in this book. I was very into at the moment, but I really got into it when Emma Frost tried to recap Jean Grey’s life to Teen Jean, “Maybe it means you have hald a chance of not turning into a beautiful nightmare that dies horrible. Maybe you get to die of old age…maybe you do eat the planet as The Phoenix, you know, any of those.” Hilarious. But then Angel is adorable with Laura and they ride away on a motorcycle to go on a date. So that’s going to be fun.

Miles Morales: The Ultimate Spider-Man #3

Miles told Katie that he was Spider-Man and she freaked out and ran away. And his other friend who’s name I can’t remember was all “I told you so!” Meanwhile, he has to go fight Green Goblin, and I forgot that Ultimate Green Goblin looked like that. Anyway, he also has to figure out all of this Peter Parker stuff, which it turns out probably has something to do with The Avengers crashing all of those universes together. (Of course it does. Why didn’t we all think of that early?)

Deadpool #31: “My Robot Buddy”

I don’t understand this story at all. I love it and it makes me laugh, but I’ll do my best to catch up. So Deadpool’s daughter Ellie’s mother is Agent Preston who is also a robot? Or at least at this moment, she is. So Ellie is being raised by Wade’s brother, and she doesn’t know that her father is, Deadpool. Meanwhile, he and Dazzler are still vampire huntin’, when he discovers that his daughter needs him. So, he goes to Thor to ask for a ride, and Thor says yes, but is kind of a dick about it.

Huh, that wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be.

Daredevil #5

This issue chronicles how Foggy Nelson faked his death and it’s super duper cute. Also, Ant Man is helping cure his cancer. Matt and Foggy’s bro times are interuptted by a robot attack and I love this book so much!!!!!!!! Anyway, things are super emotional and great. And I really love this book.

Captain Marvel #5: “Higher, Further, Faster, More. Part Five”

Carol Danvers is my absolute 100% favorite Marvel character. God, she’s so awesome. Basically, after finding out the J’son is causing those refugees to be poisoned so that he can mine vibranium, she’s decided that her little band of misfits and herself are going to take on his entire fleet and she is just such a total straight up bad ass and I love her and please, please, please, Kevin Feige let Kristen Bell play her!

Thor And Loki: The Tenth Realm #1

When the truth bomb blew up, Thor learned that before him, Freyja and Odin had a daughter who was stolen from them and murdered and also she’s probably alive. He gets pissed at Freyja and he and Loki go talk about it in a diner. They decide to go find her, but obviously Loki has to be snarky about it. And also, this seems to be playing right into old Loki’s plan. Guys, I really, really can’t wait for Loki and Thor to pick up again…but this is going to be fun.

Avengers #32: “Five Thousand Into The Future”

Time travel wonkiness lands, Captain America, Black Widow and Starbrand 5045 years into the future. There, Franklin Richards is still alive and had a bad ass pony tail and what looks like an arc reactor. They go into space and learn that humans appear to be happy as automatons, or something. Also, he warns Cap to NOT PUNCH TONY IN THE FACE THAT TIME THAT HASN’T HAPPENED YET. But also he probably will. And Franklin gets that. And it turns out that his tree friend is Groot. Which was nice. I reread that part a couple of times because it really was lovely.

The Amazing Spider-Man: Learning To Crawl #1.3

Turns out that Aunt May doesn’t think Peter is Spider-Man, she thinks that he’s Heisenberg. He takes some pictures of Condor and sells them to J. Jonah Jameson. Meanwhile, at the Midtown High science fair, Clash attacks to prove that his project is the best.  Also, Peter takes this crazy magnet thing, but his presentation is really boring so he loses. When he fights Clash, Aunt May says how awful she thinks Spider-Man is. Peter feels guilty about it.

Amazing X-Men #9: “World War Wendigo Part 2”

The Wendigos are taking over Canada and only The X-Men, and a little bit Captain American can stop them! Storm  and her crew have joined up with X-Force to find Logan and fight The Wendigos. They use magic and Bobby’s ice powers and it’s all pretty fun and great. My favorite part was probably when Collasus and Night Crawler talked.

It’s been a good comics week. I’m exhausted.

 

Leave a Reply

