Marvel Comics Wrap Up: 6/18/2014

Hello All! For the first time in a while, I didn’t feel like I was drowning in Marvel. I also had a couple of catch up books that didn’t make it into my order last week. Anyway, let’s get started.

photo (1)

Original Sins #1: “Deathlok,” “Young Avengers” & “Lock Jaw”

Deathlok kills a guy in Grand Central Station, and I probably won’t be reading that book. I get my fair share of that character in Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. I don’t get enough Coulson though, so that The Young Avengers are currently posing as him to break into S.H.I.E.L.D does definitely get my attention. It was a fun adventure with them too, and also, I didn’t know the existed. Lock Jaw is a dog, and he keeps popping through portals until Tony Stark gives him a bone. It was super cute.

Secret Avengers #4: “The Nursery”

Maria Hill and MODOK send a bunch of Agents into an ambush. Maria thinks that they’re dead and feels marginally guilty about it. She’s keeping it a secret from Hawkeye, which might be for the best, because, I mean, really, who wants to tell that guy anything?In reality, this was a pretty cool heist story, that I probably would have followed better if this wasn’t the first issue of this book that I picked up.

Original Sin #4

The Punisher and Dr. Strange are tentatively working together. They confront Bucky (who Wolverine tracked down.) Also, Black Panther and Emma Frost are there, because of reasons. While they try to figure out what’s going on next, it turns out that there are like a million Nick Fury’s and also one that’s really old. LMD’s! LMD’s all over the stinking place and I’m really, really, excited about it!

Avengers #31: “500 Into The Future”

500 years in the future, Ultron rules the world and has repopulated it with robots. (That Ultron, what a scamp!) This includes Robot Avengers, who have decided to fight their real flesh and blood selves. The Cap one is probably the most unsettling as he’s decided to flat out torture the real thing. Natasha’s robot is all, “girl we’re survivors,” and Thor punches the other Thor. Then they go 5000 years forward, and Hawkeyes is there, and they’re back in Tony’s lab. I’m completely addicted to this story, you guys, I really can’t wait to see what happens next!

Daredveil #4

Matt fights The Owl, and then gets worried that the guy he was fighting with has a death wish. Poor Matt, he’s trying hard to do the right thing these days, which is nice to see. But he gets a nice speech about how he gets it, it’s hard being down and out, and he’s been there, and he won’t let this guy kill himself. Art continues to be the best part of this book. I love the colors and block drawing.

Nova #18: “Dia De Los Muertos”

Sam does not take The Watcher’s murder well, and immediately goes to deal with Avengers in their quest to get the eye back. But when The Eye explodes, Sam sees a vision of his father, wussing out on a Nova mission and his faith gets shaken. Does he still want to find his dad? Who even knows anymore? Poor Sam. But I will continue to read this. Sam is quickly eclipsing many others to be my new favorite comics character.

Alright! See you guys next week! Peace and love!

Leave a Reply

