Disney Kingdoms: What to explore?

This week gave us Figment: #1, and while I’m saving my thoughts on the book for Marvel’s Wrap Up on Sunday it did get me thinking. (Due to a conversation with Alan. He’s directing my show, conversations with him will probably spur many blog posts this summer…) We’ve seen Seekers of Weird, which, granted I only read the last book of, but now we have Figment. 

What are some other cool Disney Worlds that might be worth exploring for Marvel?

Even I'm not deluded enough to think a Princess Comic would work...sigh

Even I’m not deluded enough to think a Princess Comic would work…sigh

Alan immediately said, “Do you think they’d do Captain Eo?”

I immediately said, “God I hope so!”

Oh Please Oh Please, Oh Oh Please!

Oh Please Oh Please, Oh Oh Please!

Captain EO, if you’re unfamiliar is a bonkers 3-D Movie where Michael Jackson goes to space and defeats an evil queen with the power of pop music and dancing. It’s fantastic in every way that is completely impossible to articulate with words and would actually make a pretty great comic. So that’s one possibility.

I’ve never been a huge fan of Western Comics, but to be fair, my only real exposure to them has been Jonah Hex and I think I’ve made it clear how I feel about that gentleman. (I don’t mind when he pops up in Batman because of time travel or whatever, but for the most part, ugh) but a Thunder Mountain comic could be a cool way to go. Figment is going in a distinctly steampunk direction, and that could be a cool way to go with most of this universe. A cool steamboat adventure story into the Jungle, on a cruise. (Also with PUNS!) It could be called, Jungle Cruise.

 

"You may think that's water but it's not!" (A joke I heard when I was 6 that I still laugh at whenever I think of it)

“You may think that’s water but it’s not!” (A joke I heard when I was 6 that I still laugh at whenever I think of it)

Other distinct properties? The Enchanted Tiki Room. It has four talking parrots and is about their magical night club. That would make a straight up awesome comic book.

All the birds sing words and the flowers bloom...

All the birds sing words and the flowers bloom…

I imagine that The Haunted Mansion, if it hadn’t already been adapted into a bad Eddie Murphy movie and on it’s way to being adapated into a probably awesome Guillermo DelToro movie could have made for a good story, but as it is, that’s probably not in the cards.

I don’t know. I was kind of dry on material today…but this was sort of fun right? I will say that I never thought that a Figment origin story comic would be a thing, but I’m deeply glad that it is, so I’m excited to see what direction they decide to go in moving forward.

2 thoughts on “Disney Kingdoms: What to explore?

  1. Haunted Mansion actually got an anthology series from Slave Labor Graphics a couple years ago. Aside from telling stories about different ghosts, it featured a multi-part story about the origin of the hauntings and the Ghost Host/Gracey, Bride, Hatbox Ghost and Leota and a second multiparter left unresolved about what crazy stuff goes down when the Mansion hits a thousand ghosts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

