2 Years: A Reflection

When I started this whole thing two years ago, I really didn’t know what I was getting into. I just knew that The Avengers and The Dark Knight Rises were coming out and I didn’t want to bore the pants off of everyone I hung out with talking about them, and also I didn’t have a job, so I needed something to occupy my time. Of course, this still lead to me holing up in my room and binge watching Futurama and Doctor Who for the most part, but well, here we are.

I’ve learned a lot over the past two years, and fallen really deeply down the rabbit hole into fandom. And like Alice, I’ve found both wonderful and terrible things about that. I’ve made incredible friends because of it, connected with other writers who’s work I truly and deeply enjoy and look forward to doing more. (The bad stuff, basically I’ve become more obsessive. Or maybe I’m just embracing me. Whatever…we’ll figure that out later.)

But onto some of those friends. The people that have supported me, my family, but of course I wrote about them in detail, I love you all so much, and I adore you for humoring me as much as you have. Two years and three jobs later, I can’t believe how great, and funny and smart and helpful you’ve all been. Of course special shout outs to Mom, Mary, Aunt Paska and Christine and Tripp. Sorry rest of the family. Ask me a frickin question about something I wrote sometime, and I’ll know you read and I can mention you too.

Which leads me to the biggest thank you this year:

Aless.

Hi.

I don’t think you can quite understand the unbelievable impact you’ve had on my life, and I hope that you can understand how much it’s meant to me. We met at a time in my life when I desperately needed new friends. Not that my old ones aren’t great, just, you know, I’d known most of them for a decade and we have certain patterns and whatever. I needed new friends. And then, with one offhand comment about Doctor Who, there you were. Doctor Who, turned into Batman, Batman into Nightwing, Nightwing into Marvel and now, over a year later, I find myself describing you as my best friend without even thinking about it. I look forward to years of friendship, Comic Cons, movie nights, Trivia Games and diner visits. This past year of the blog would not have been as nuanced or fun if I hadn’t had you along for the ride on many of the things I’d been writing about and I’m pretty sure that Eloise and her associates would have driven us both absolutely insane if we hadn’t had each other.

So thanks, love you forever!

I wouldn't have wanted to share this moment with anyone else.

I wouldn’t have wanted to share this moment with anyone else.

Also big thank you ups to Crystan, Chrissy and Juli. I wish I hadn’t been such a wash out during college, because if I’d opened my eyes and seen that you guys were right in front of me, I probably would have enjoyed the experience a whole lot more. But hanging out with you guys, making the effort to see each other has paid off in dividends for me both as a person and as a writer. I love you all, and you’re true blue proof that there ain’t no party like a Scranton Party, because, well, you know the rest. What up Electric City!

Everyone who’s followed, commented, liked, and even just read, thanks. I’d probably do this even if it weren’t for you, but it’s nice to see those stars and word bubbles. Keep them coming and tell your friends!

Here’s to another year, and many after it.

 

Leave a Reply

