All Summer Long

There are a lot of reasons that I look forward to summer. Not least of all is my theater group, (still looking for donations, by the way. Every little bit helps!) and of course the start of  Movie Season, and this year, I’m looking forward to picking up some new comics series that will be hitting!

But let’s start with Movie Season 2014. I’m not going to go through every movie that’s hitting this season, but here are a few that I’m really looking forward to.

The Amazing Spider-Man 2, 

I wasn’t like super excited about this, because I’m not that big a fan of The Amazing Spider-Man, and I badly don’t want to see Emma Stone’s Gwen Stacy die. (I’m still not sure they will kill her, but I think it’s likely.) But, I am really excited to see Jamie Foxx as Electro, and seeing the development of Harry and Peter’s friendship this time around. Dane Dehaan is soo different from Jams Franco, and I’m very glad for that.

Chef

Jon Favreau doing what I like best from him. (No not making Iron Man, though I like that too.) Making small, indie, character based comedy. I don’t expect Chef to be Swingers level good, but I think it will be good.

Godzilla

I really want this to be good, for it’s own sake, for Bryan Cranston’s and for the sake of a possible Pacific Rim sequel.

Million Dollar Arm

Jon Hamm, Disney, Baseball and adorable teenage boys. What could go wrong? Oh, I mean, it could turn out to be totally racist, but I hope not because I mean, Jon Hamm, teaching 19 year old boys how to play baseball!

X-Men: Days of Future Past

will cry. Every trailer for this movie has made me weep like a baby. And I’m truly curious how cleaning up a continuity is going to work on film, since it’s something that will probably just have to keep happening down the line.

Maleficent

I have mixed feelings about this. It looks visually stunning, but I don’t like the idea of recasting one of the best villains ever as an anti hero. Part of what makes Maleficent so compelling is that she’s pure evil. But Lana DelRay’s version of “Once Upon A Dream” is so chilling that it’ll make the whole endeavor worth it.

How To Train Your Dragon 2

Can’t wait to go back to this little world and hang out with Hiccup and Toothless again.

Jersey Boys

Oh boy, oh boy, oh boy! I’ve been waiting years for this one. Be prepared for a large chunk of people in your life, or anyone who sees it to be singing “Sherry” for the rest of their lives.

Transformers: Age of Extinction

Wahlberg, giant robots, and no Shia? It’ll be a good visit.

Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes

Rise of The Planet Of The Apes was so stinking good, and I can’t wait to see how they follow up on it in this sequel.

Guardians of The Galaxy

I mean, I’m kind of excited about this movie. I may have mentioned that a time or twelve.

Lucy

Please just, I mean, go see Lucy, so that there’s no reason not to make Black Widow. Also, it looks great just on it’s own.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

It’s looking like less of an abomination with each new detail that gets released. Who doesn’t want to revisit this childhood touchstone.

The Giver

BEST BOOK EVER! And Meryl Streep, so you know, it’s going to be good.

Sin City: A Dame To Kill For

This is going to close out the summer, and then we move into the fall part, which is very different (fewer blockbusters, for one!) I can’t wait to get back into this world, it’s going to be great.

As for comics, in July we’re getting the new series Grayson, which will be about Dick, (thankfully not dead…) and how he becomes a secret agent. I’m not totally sold on the concept, but I’m so grateful that he’s still going to be alive that I will buy the series. And I love him, so there’s that. There’s also going to be a run on Batman & Robin called “Robin Rising” which I can only hope is going to be about Damian’s resurrection. (But probably won’t be.) And finally Multiversity Grant Morrison’s new limited book, that I will love reading and trying to understand and ultimately just laugh at because Morrison comics are bonkers. (Also, it’s going to feature an all ages Shazam story which, YES!)

It’s going to be an entertaining summer, that’s for sure

Leave a Reply

