Sansa Stark: The Character Winner for “Two Swords”

The opening images of last night’s season 4 premier of Game of Thrones was one of the most upsetting to me, because of it’s deep symbolism. We saw Tywin Lannister melting down Ice, Ned Stark’s sword and crafting a pair of twin swords for his own family out of it.

You wouldn’t think that this would be as upsetting as certain other images, but I just keep remembering the moment in A Storm of Swords where Sansa sees the new swords for the first time and she says in horror, “What have they done to my father’s sword?” Because really, as if Sansa Stark needs further reminders of how far she and her family have fallen, at last there’s this, her father’s sword, the last intact symbol of their power is now destroyed.

Sansa’s a character that I’ve given a lot of flack to, but who grew on me immensely. Even in the books, I didn’t love her much but Sophie Turner’s performance makes me love her a little bit, and of course I pity her. It’s hard not to.

Which is why, as the season moves forward, I’m going to be awarding every Monday my “Character of The Week.”

And this week, the character of the week is Sansa.

Sansa

Sansa did spend an inordinate amount of time moping, but you know, as far as she knows her only living sibling is Jon, who she’ll never see again and who I’m guessing she was never super close to. (I mean, really, Sansa and Jon Snow? Basically no common ground there.) One of my favorite Sansa moments comes after Ned, Sansa and Arya arrive in King’s Landing, and Arya notes that Sansa’s behavior can be explained by the fact that she “lost her wolf.” I have a feeling that if Lady had survived the journey Sansa would have had a better ending.

But this is Game of Thrones, and we’re all stuck where we are, and everyone has to be miserable.

Leave a Reply

