Well Played, Mr. Fiege. Well Played Indeed

thor the dark world poster

Yesterday Thor: The Dark World came out on Blu-ray and DVD. This was exciting for a few reasons. Obviously, it means that I can watch that bathing scene over and over again. But it was also my first Blu-Ray purchase since getting a Blu-Ray player. I was really bummed when The Avengers came out and because I didn’t have Blu-Ray, I couldn’t access most of the special features and the same for Iron Man 3, but this time. I was so excited to play around in the world.

Obviously, the main thing I wanted to check out was “All Hail The King,” the new Marvel One Shot, featuring Ben Kingsley back as Trevor Slattery, the man who was The Mandarin. I was a big fan of the whole Trevor twist in Iron Man 3and I know that a lot of people weren’t. The thing that’s sort of brilliant about this short is that it works as a patch for those people who were unhappy with the decision while not undermining how it works in the structure Iron Man 3. It’s shockingly brilliant.

I mean it when I say well played, here. It was a good play. Of course the piece was masterfully acted by Kingsley, who brings Trevor’s madness to the forefront. This is madness brought on by rejection and addiction and now incarceration. It’s an enjoyable little interlude, only made better by the knowledge that Sam Rockwell returns at the end as Justin Hammer.

I’ve always loved the “Arkham Asylum” mentality that all of the foes of a superhero are incarcerated together, and I was glad to see that played with her. Also, Rockwell’s just a really funny guy.

OK, now onto the actual Thor: The Dark World stuff. Look, as I made clear in my actual review of this movie, it’s not my favorite. I still like it a lot, but it disappointed me because I loved Thor so much. And of course like any good fangirl I love me some Hemsworth and Hiddleston.

I mean really, does it get better than these two?

I mean really, does it get better than these two?

And the Blu-Ray special features give us plenty of them! There’s a featurette that literally just tracks Thor and Loki’s relationship across Thor, The Avengers and Thor: The Dark World. So there’s that. Then there’s the extended and deleted scenes, where we get to see Hiddleston deliver the Captain America lines, and it’s great. Then there’s the gag reel, which is so cute, I could barely stand it. Last, but certainly not least is the feature commentary.

Commentaries can get a little dry, but this one, narrated by Kevin Fiege, Tom Hiddleston and director Alan Taylor covered enough bases about making the film that you were never bored. Also Hiddleston and Fiege talking about how Thor, The Avengers and The Dark World are actually “The Loki Trilogy” probably put to bed any and all rumors that there will be a stand alone Loki movie. (This is a shame, but not exactly shocking.)

Also included was an extended sneak peek at Captain America: The Winter Soldier, and I literally could not be more excited about that movie if I tried. So I’m going to stop trying and just make high pitched squealing noises every time I hear anything about it. And finally there was a quick bit about creating the epic score and recording at Abbey Road Studios. Kind of cool, but hardly riveting.

All in all, the features were entertaining and informative. I’ll probably watch the movie on its own (without commentary) some other time this week. The Thor & Loki featurette may even be worth a rewatch on it’s own, if only to see some of the best acting moments between Hemsworth and Hiddleston. And if you’re interested in world building, “All Hail The King,” is worth the price of the DVD on it’s own. It isn’t quite as good as “Agent Carter” which came with Iron Man 3, but it’s still pretty good.

2 thoughts on “Well Played, Mr. Fiege. Well Played Indeed

  1. I’m hoping to get a little more excited for Captain American, but at the moment, the only film that I am dying to see is Godzilla! Anything jaw dropping about the extended trailer? I agree with everything you said about the short, and you have now got me interested in giving Agent Carter a watch.

    Like

    • Probably the coolest thing about the extended trailer was that you really see some good Falcon action, and a lot more of the fight between Cap and Winter Soldier.

      And I can’t believe how excited I am for Godzilla. I wasn’t expecting to be, but it looks fantastic!

      You should absolutely give Agent Carter a watch. It’s basically about the events that lef to Agent Carter and Howard Stark founding S.H.I.E.L.D. It’s a lot of fun.

      Like

Leave a Reply

