Cemetery Tours & Sunshine

Here’s the thing about my uncle’s house in Florida, where I’ve been for the past five days, it’s one of my favorite places on the planet. It’s an absolutely stunning place, but it’s also really peaceful. Like criminally peaceful. Like, when my flight got cancelled yesterday, I was actually disappointed because getting back home meant I’d at least have my sister to talk to, and also friends. I’m not usually down here without my sister, so this was a new one.

But here’s what all that peaceful solitude and silence are good for, reading.

And so, on Saturday, I lay out by the pool, I read Cemetery Tours by Jacqueline E. Smith. I’ve been reading Jacqueline’s blog, A Platform of Sorts for the past month or so, and I greatly enjoy her writing, so I know that I’d probably at least enjoy the book, even if I didn’t love it.

I totally loved it. I’m a big fan of any story that makes the supernatural the normal everyday comings and goings of a person, which is what Cemetery Tours does for it’s hero Michael and heroine Kate. (See, Buffy and Charmed as other examples of me loving this.) Michael has a gift, he can speak to and see ghosts. The problem is that when the ghosts realize this, they tend to hang around, and Michael doesn’t them to. Meanwhile, Kate and her brother Gavin are definitely being haunted, and when they move into his apartment building, well, he decides it’s time to break his rule of not interfering with the dead to help Kate. Meanwhile, Kate’s got a monster crush on Luke Rainer, a paranormal investigator with a TV show who knows Michael’s secret.

I reviewed the book over on Amazon. (Figured that would be more helpful) and I really can’t speak better of it than the fact that I gave it 5 stars. I was thrilled by the mystery and loved the characters, I laughed out loud more than a few times, and any book that has, “spend the rest of the day lounging around in his pajamas, eating cereal, and catching up on Doctor Who,” on it’s first page is worth reading. My only quibble is with the cliff hanger ending, but since I know that Jackie’s working on a sequel, I don’t mind it so much. I can’t wait to see what happens next. (And I’d just been thinking I needed a new series!)

Leave a Reply

