If you were the creator of Lexcorp, you would have created Lexcorp

While I obviously didn’t join in the collective rending of garments that ensued when Ben Affleck was cast in Man of Steel: Wait That Guy?, I am starting to wonder what exactly Zach Snyder is planning for this movie to be. Because with today’s news that Jesse Eisenberg will be taking on the role of Lex Luthor, I find myself thinking, wait, really?

I mean, really?

I mean, really?

I like Jesse Eisenberg, a lot. And in fact, if he plays Lex Luthor the way he played Mark Zuckerberg, this is going to be an interesting movie. Actually, I think it’s going to be an interesting movie none the less, with Holden McNeil as Batman, a Superman who kind of blends into the background, and Israeli Wonder Woman and a thirty year old character actor as the main bad guy. Like I said back when Affleck was announced, I’m really excited about the sort of out of the box casting choices, but this one really came out of left field. And unlike Affleck, who’s work I really love, and Gal Gadot who’s a wild card, I’m just not sure I can see Eisenberg taking on this character, who is, frankly, kind of difficult to pull off.

But, as I’ve said, there’s a reason why I write a blog about this stuff and the guys that make this stuff make it. And as I’ve said a million times, I really liked Man of Steel, so I’m willing to give it the benefit of the doubt, but I’m just starting to wonder if Man of Steel: Zuckerberg’s Revenge isn’t going to be kind of a mess. (I’ve also stated that I’d be happy to watch the train wreck as well.)

In tandem with this announcement came the news that Jeremy Irons is going to be playing Alfred. Being that Irons is British and over 50, this is less of a surprise and more of a, “Yeah, OK, that guy.”

Also, Eisenberg as Lex Luthor does allow you to rewatch The Social Network as a movie about Luthor double crossing Peter Parker…so that’s kind of fun.

The Social Network

Obviously, that was Sorkin & Fincher’s Original Intent.

Leave a Reply

