Girl Crush: Zoe Saldana

If you’re unfamiliar with the term “girl crush” it basically means when a straight woman has a crush on another straight woman. There are three “levels” of crushes, a level 1 girl crush is someone you admire and would like to hang out with. My level 1 girl crushes are Gail Simmons from Top Chef and Tina Fey. A level 2 girl crush is a girl that you want to be best friends with. Some of my level 2 crushes include Megan McCain and Casey Wilson. A level 3 crush is a girl that you’d go gay for. My level 3 crushes are Emma Stone and Jessica Alba.

There are of course other women all along the way who fluctuate on the scale. But this morning as I looked at the newly released Guardian of The Galaxy “line up photo,” I realized that I’m super into Zoe Saldana. She’s somewhere between a 2 and 3.

So pretty!

So pretty!

I’ve talked about other women living a fangirl dream before, namely J.Law, but Saldana is just like, over the top involved in all things nerdy. There’s the most obvious one, which is that she’s Lieutenant Uhura in the new Star Trek. And she’s awesome at it. This is an Uhura who, while still wears a mini skirt, kicks ass, speaks Klingon, and makes Spock have feelings. (Maybe that last one isn’t super women’s lib-ish, but it’s fun none the less.) Then came Avatar. I’m not a huge fan of Avatar, because I saw and loved it the first time, when it was called Fern Gully: The Last Rainforest.

It's going to get the 90's all over you!

It’s going to get the 90’s all over you!

But she was still pretty great in it. And now she’s about to play Gamora.

Everything about this image makes me insanely happy!

Everything about this image makes me insanely happy!

I read and loved Guardians of The Galaxy launch issues about a month ago, and I can’t wait to see what the MCU plan for these characters. I’m actually deep into cosmic comics at the moment. Green Lantern has completely absorbed me, and today I read Vol. 2 of Red Hood and The Outlaws which takes Jason, Roy and Kori to her home planet to liberate it and of course, The Amory Wars, which I reread almost immediately after reading Guardians. (I actually think the film version of Amory will hinge a lot on Guardians’s success or failure. If it does well, if people like it, I think they’ll like Amory.) Back to the topic at hand, though. I kind of love that Saldana has just jumped head long into the whole Space/Alien/Nerd thing. She’s not afraid of it, she’s just going for it. She brags about speaking “two fictional languages,” and some of her non sci-fi credits include playing an avenging orphan in Columbiana and Batman’s ex girlfriend in Out of The Furnace. (I have not and probably will not see this movie.)

Also, she always talks about her mom on talk shows, which I have a feeling I would do.

So, Zoe, let’s hang out, get a glass of wine, or whatever.

Leave a Reply

