So is Ant Man going to be a comedy?

From the minute it was announced that Ant Man was going to be directed by Edgar Wright, it was always pretty clear that it was going to be little bit cheekier than the rest of the MCU. This is the man who managed to turn a zombie gore fest into one of the best romantic comedies of the new millennium. He’s all about subverting expectations.

Then he casts Paul Rudd as Hank Pym.

We’re really big fans of Paul Rudd in my house. If you’ve sat in a hotel room and listened to an almost word for word recitation of the scene where he and Seth Rogen are on mushrooms from Knocked Up then you might have some idea of how much my sister loves Paul Rudd.

I'm high up! I'm up high!

I’m high up! I’m up high!

If you’ve ever rented Role Models on a family vacation, you might understand how my mother feels. And if you’ve ever written a paper on how Clueless is the best adaptation of any Jane Austen ever, then you know how my best friend feels.

As for me? I’ll never forget his memorable turn as Phoebe’s husband Mike on Friends, and the impact of “Do you wanna know how I know you’re gay?” from The 40 Year Old Virgin has yet to leave me.

I’m guessing that Ant Man is going to be subversive, a little bit dark and hugely funny. Because if there’s anything that describes the collective work of these two men, it’s “a little dark and hugely funny.”

And also those 5 lines in Romeo + Juliet that Rudd had, because Paris is the most ridiculous excuse for a character William Shakespeare ever farted out.

Also apparently Rashida Jones is going to be The Wasp? Who else wants to see Aziz Ansari, Amy Poehler and the rest of the Pawnee gang get in on the MCU action? I know that I do.

Leave a Reply

