Cap is Back!

I was waiting a long time to write that title.

Anyway, this week gave us the X-Men: Days of Future Past trailer and the Captain America: Winter Soldier trailer. The Days of Future Past trailer made me so feely, that I couldn’t write about it properly. As I mentioned when I saw The Wolverine, I had a really bizarre emotional reaction to Charles Xavier’s resurrection, so to say that I’m looking forward to it is probably an understatement.

I tend to get rambly and unable to form words when I think about it, actually.

Not so with Winter Soldier.

I’m excited. I mean, I loved Captain America: The First Avenger. I think it’s the best movie in the “phase one” of The MCU. “Phase Two” is looking to have a very different feel, and one that I think will suit Steve pretty well.

But that’s not what I liked best about the trailer.

It wasn’t the new tone.

It definitely wasn’t the new costume design. (That actually looks pretty stupid.)

Nope. It’s the fact that the first 30 seconds or so of the trailer is Steve and Natasha flirting.

Seriously, he’s about to jump out of a plane. Being that he’s Steve, and she’s teasing him about asking out some girl. He basically winks and is all, “you’re the only girl for me.”

Which, yeah, because Black Widow is pretty much “Agent Carter Part II” in terms of Steve-land. She too introduced him to a new world, she’s a soldier (well, a spy) and she probably won’t take his crap.

Plus, well, they were adorable together in The Nanny Diaries.

So cute!

So cute!

I’m actually pretty psyched to see S.H.I.E.L.D. take on a bigger role in the story too. Not because it worked out super well in Iron Man 2 (it didn’t) but unlike Tony, Steve is a soldier, thus, he needs a larger organization to make his character work. Rogue Captain America is interesting for about a minute. (Where as Rogue Iron Man is always interesting.)

Of course I’m sure Steve and Director Fury will have some kind of a disagreement at some point and he’ll throw a Captain America hissy fit, because, life is Black and White when you’re Captain America and the world is a Whole Mess a Grey when you’re Nick Fury.

Also, am I the only person who kind of hopes that Fitz and Simmons build his tech for him?

And seriously, how cute were they on last night’s Agents? The only reason I don’t want them to get together is because I don’t want one of them to die. (Whedon rules state that once characters admit their true feelings to one another, one of them has to die.)

Leave a Reply

