Ben-Man: The Greatest Announcement I have ever heard

He can rock the tux. He's halfway there

He can rock the tux. He’s halfway there

When I heard last night that Ben Affleck was going to play Batman, I was not conflicted. I was not even conflicted in a vague way. I was not upset. I was so happy about it I almost burst into tears.

This is the kind of out of the box, unthinkable casting that I was hoping for in this movie.

I also just flat out love Ben Affleck.

If you watch my facebook page (which you should), I said that I was going to be writing about Batman again this week. This wasn’t what I meant. I meant I was going to post a piece I’ve been working on for months and saving. (I will still probably post it.) I meant I was going to write about how I was finally reading the “Knightfall” storyline. I meant that I reviewed JLU “Epilogue.”

I didn’t think that they were going to announce the new casting this week. I really didn’t. I absolutely didn’t think that it was going to be Ben Affleck.

How do you like them apples?

How do you like them apples?

But here’s the thing I love Ben Affleck. I love Mallrats. I love Good Will Hunting. I love Pearl Harbor, and I really love his work in the past five or so years since he decided to get serious.

And he was the bomb in Phantoms!

And he was the bomb in Phantoms!

I love that he seems to live by my personal philosophy when it comes to entertainment , “take what you do seriously, but don’t for a minute imagine that it’s serious.” I love that he seems to really love his wife and children, I love that he loves his friends. I loved Argo and the way that the whole world seemed to root for him this past year, when I’ve been rooting for him since I was about 13.

Do I think he’ll be a good Batman? I really can’t say at this point. It’ll have to wait. We need a clearer picture of what this movie is going to be before I can rule on that.

But right now? Right now I’m just really excited that one of my favorite actors ever is going to be playing my favorite character ever, I’m going to just bask in that for a while before I start analyzing it.

Also, if one more person says, “But Daredevil was awful!” I’m going to throw things at them. Matt Murdoch is not Bruce Wayne. Daredevil was made in a pre Iron Man, pre Dark Knight trilogy world. The stakes are higher now, and the people making the movie know that.

And that’s all the analysis that you’re getting from me. Enjoy this joke from the Mallrats opening credits that is now much funnier.

Kevin Smith? Funny chubby guy, or pop culture prophet?

Kevin Smith: Funny chubby guy, or pop culture prophet?

2 thoughts on “Ben-Man: The Greatest Announcement I have ever heard

  1. Pingback: If you were the creator of Lexcorp, you would have created Lexcorp | The Fangirl's Dilemma

  2. Pingback: Got The Picture | The Fangirl's Dilemma

Leave a Reply

