Two Separate Yet Equally Important Groups: Part 2

On Wednesday I began my first ever full analysis of Law and Order, and to sum things up, it’s basically, Briscoe and Green are the shit, Benjamin Bratt and Chris Noth are quite handsome, and Lieutenant VanBuren is an excellent example of cultural feminism to us all.

But as you well know, in the criminal justice system, the people are represented by two separate yet equally important group and the district attorneys who prosecute the offenders. These are DA’s.

When you think of Law and Order there are of course, patterns that you recognize. For example, if I ever move to Manhattan, I will never run in the park not just because running without a treadmill is impossible for me, but because I never want to risk finding a dead body, and the almost always find the body in the park. It’s also a struggle for me to not ask the maids at work if they’ve ever found bodies, or people that live near the river. But I digress. The point is, whenever I watch an episode, I find myself saying, “God, I love the cop half the most,” until we get to the prosecutor half, because then we get these guys:

New York District Attorneys Who I Loved:

Adam Schiff (Played by Steven Hill)

I don't have anything witty to say

I don’t have anything witty to say

Adam was cool, confident and kind of a smart ass. I liked him. He was also the original cast member to stick around the longest (10 years!) and always reacted to those trademark Law and Order twists with a sigh and a shrug, like a good New Yorker should.

Arthur Branch (Played by Fred Thompson)

I don't have anything witty to say

I don’t have anything witty to say

All the charm of your drunk southern uncle, but he can pursue the death penalty!

All the charm of your drunk southern uncle, but he can pursue the death penalty!

Remember when Fred Thompson actually ran for president? No? Either you’re a Democrat and didn’t pay attention to the  early Republican field in 2008, because screw it, we all knew McCain would get the nomination, or you’re a Republican and you’ve repressed the 2008 election because, can you really blame us? It was a difficult time. Anyway, I didn’t really want him to be the president unless it meant that he would sit around the oval office drinking scotch and dispensing folksy witticisms to his staff who would then roll their eyes and fight wholeheartedly like Jack and Serena always did. That would have been awesome.

Assistant District Attorneys

Claire Kincaid (Played by Jill Hennessy)

So cool

So cool

Claire is my favorite! Surprise! (Though probably not much of one) Mostly because I think that Jill Hennessy is a cool, cool lady. But also I just loved Claire’s style. She was fierce, and tough, fought for what she wanted and usually got it. Also, like many of the women of L&O she moved on to another equally awesome procedural. (Crossing Jordan was one awesome show!)

Abbie Carmichael (Played by Angie Harmon)

Again, with the cool

Again, with the cool

You know how before I was talking about how I love Claire, I also love Abbie. In fact, I often get them confused. They were very similar. But I digress, Abbie, also awesome, also went on to star on another crime show that is in fact awesome (Rizolli and Isles. TNT knows drama.)

Serena Southerlyn (Played by Elisabeth Rohm)

elisabeth_rohm law and order

Truth be told I actually didn’t like Serena that much, but Elisabeth was also on Angel and Heroes, so she gets a pass. YAY!

And then of course, the man, the myth, the legend:

Executive Assistant District Attorney/District Attorney Jack McCoy (Played By Sam Waterston, in case you live under a rock or something, and don’t know who Jack McCoy is.)

THIS IS THE GUY!

THIS IS THE GUY!

Jack McCoy was amazing. He was a God among men. He prosecutor murderers so hard, that they cried, turned on their wife who was actually the murderer and then she cried. And for almost fifteen years we all loved every minute of it. Jack was a good guy, a white hat for sure, but he wasn’t above compromise if that would get the job done. Jack McCoy wanted justice, and five times out of ten he got it. When he didn’t he would go have a scotch and with a judgmental look from Claire, Abbie or Serena he would sigh and move on to prosecute another day.

So, that’s Law and Order. I bet you thought I was going to abandon this little follow up to talk about the Veronica Mars movie didn’t you? No such luck! You’ll have to come back next week to see that.

Leave a Reply

