We Hope That You Remember

I have never feared an alien invasion because for as long as I can remember, I knew that Will Smith would take care of it.

Will Smith eats alien invasions for breakfast and then writes PG rated raps about it!

Will Smith eats alien invasions for breakfast and then writes PG rated raps about it!

I finally got around to watching Men in Black 3 this week. I know it’s been a while since it came out, I missed it in the theaters and then had other things to watch. I wasn’t in a huge rush to see this movie. Men in Black is one of my all time favorite movies. Aside from Smith’s world saving alien butt kicking, there’s Tony Shaloub as an alien arms dealer/snitch, Linda Fiorentino as The Girl, Rip Torn as the grouchy boss, and of course Tommy Lee Jones as Agent K.

love Tommy Lee Jones. I just love him. I love The Fugitive, I love US Marshals, I love Double Jeopardy, I love Man of The House, I love freaking Space Cowboys. 

Why wouldn't you love this movie? I want to go into space.

Why wouldn’t you love this movie? Donald Southerland alone is a reason to love it.

But then Men In Black 2 happened. It was so sad. It should have been good. Rosario Dawson was added to the equation.

Between Rent and Sin City she has earned my undying love.

Between Rent and Sin City she has earned my undying love.

But it wasn’t. It was just a bad movie. (Little known fact. When J and K go to the video store in Men in Black 2, the girl who works there is played by Colombe Jacobsen, who played Julie “The Cat” Gaffney in D2 and D3. You know other people who know that? Other wierdos who write/wrote Mighty Ducks fanfiction.)  So I delayed my watching of the third installment, because I didn’t want to be disappointed again.

But here’s the thing. I liked the third one. It involved some other things that I love besides Will Smith kicking alien butt and Tommy Lee Jones being cranky and talking really fast.

Also  Captain America  He's also in that, and I also love that, and him in it.

Also Captain America He’s also in that, and I also love that, and him in it.

It has time travel, it has an origin story, it has a further delving in to the character relationship between the core characters, 60’s fashion and Bill Hader.

It's that thing, where he's hilarious, and then we all laugh forever

It’s that thing, where he’s hilarious, and then we all laugh forever

Plus it has Josh Brolin doing a pitch perfect impression of Tommy Lee Jones as a young Agent K in the past and a cameo by Will Arnett as J’s partner in the altered future where K was killed in the 60’s.

What? The Fresh Prince is going to talk down to the guy in the $3000 suit? I mean COME ON!

What? The Fresh Prince is going to talk down to the guy in the $3000 suit? I mean COME ON!

Basically this movie is almost as good as Men In Black, except for that I will probably never see a middle school cheerleading squad do a dance to it’s theme song. The bad guy is disgusting and funny, Smith is in fine wise cracking form, Jones and Brolin split the straight man role well, and Emma Thompson is in it.

Always makes things better. Just, always!

Always makes things better. Just, always!

I really enjoyed the movie is my point. And in my movie viewing for the evening, I sandwiched it between Red Dawn (The original, although I do want to watch the remake, if only for the Hemsworth factor) and Skyfall. All in all it made for a nice evening.

Leave a Reply

