What is you quest?

Today my mom and I did some basement cleaning. One of the things that we did was clean out the closet where we store some (though not all) of our DVDs. It needed organizing and purging, because there were still a lot of VHS tapes down there. (We now have a single VCR in the house, and it’s in my sister’s bedroom…) We’ve been trying since the beginning of the summer to get our basement clean, and as such we’ve been discovering some strange and amazing things we have down there, as well as some bizarre doubles and triples of books and movies. (2 copies of The Jane Austen Book Club, about twenty five of The Great Gatsby, and 3 Shopaholic Ties The Knot. Not Confessions of a Shopaholic, mind you. No, no, this is the third sequel to it. Why do I have 3 copies, I could not begin to tell you.)

Today, in the entertainment cabinet I dispose of my extraneous copies of Sabrina and Breakfast At Tiffany’s, (I ❤ Audrey Hepburn, so people continually give me her movies as gifts. As if I didn’t already own them?) and discovered a few other doubles, The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe, also probably a gift, The Star Wars Trilogy, (No need to hang on to the VHS and DVD copies. We don’t quibble about the tinkering in our house. And then Monty Python and The Holy Grail.

This one surprised me. I knew we had the VHS and DVD, I did not know we had the second DVD, which is a part of a box set. And was again, probably a gift. But either way, I got to thinking about Holy Grail, and how brilliant and wonderful a movie it is.

To me it’s a tester movie, like if you quote it and the person you’re with laughs or quotes back to you, you know they’re worth spending time with. If they don’t think it’s funny, they probably don’t have a sense of humor. (I have a similar thing with people who don’t like Jimmy Buffet, but that’s more “if you don’t like Jimmy Buffet, you probably take your life way too seriously.”)

I’m sorry, but the coconuts? The knights who say “Ni!” The Black Knight. And of course the exchange that my sister and I get in to fairly frequently, “What is your name? What is your quest? What is your favorite color?” These things are just funny.

The laughs don’t stop. Of course, my musical theater obsessed family has loved Spamalot since it was mentioned once and then when we saw it, (Original Cast. Tim Curry was amazing, and he was completely dwarfed by David Hyde Pierce and Sara Ramirez.) Then I saw it again years later when a friend from high school was in it on tour. (He played Sir Bedivere, who also doubles for the black knight. Hearing the guy you went to your sophmore semiformal say “Tis a flesh wound!” will bring any girl back to her high school crush days…or maybe it was just me.)

I’m probably going to watch the movie again at some point in the next few days. I haven’t in a while, I want to laugh that hard again.

Leave a Reply

